The Bucket List

I was never one to have keep a bucket list and I always thought the concept was silly.  Why would you need such a thing? Just enjoy your life!

And then I had cancer. Twice. And I really started thinking differently about the whole bucket list concept. If I was living on borrowed time, what were the things I really wanted to do and see?

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m feeling pretty healthy these days but the idea of a bucket list seemed more appealing. I don’t have anything formal or written down; it’s all just in my head.

One of the things on my list is whale watching. We just returned from vacation in Maine where whale watching was part of the plan. Alas, Mother Nature was not cooperative and unrelenting dense fog resulted in excursion cancellations multiple days in a row. This was the closest I got to an actual whale (we were on the lookout everywhere!):

 

Better luck next time. While disappointed, we did find other great things to do in Maine and we had a fabulous trip. Maine is truly gorgeous and, if you’ve never gone, you might want to add it to your bucket list!

Most of my list is made up of experiences and trips — and are family-focused. None of it involves acquisition of stuff (quite the contrary, if you know me!). And maybe the idea of writing a book!

How about you? Do you have a bucket list? What’s on it?

IMDb: The Bucket List (2007)

11 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. One of our favorite all time trips was a vacation in Maine off season in a cabin on a lake with no TV and it was glorious! We cooked, boated, hiked, played games, and actually talked to one another.

  2. You should come to Australia to see the Whales on the East coast at this time of year .. when my daughter got married on the northern Beaches a mother and baby whale came and frolicked in the bay and entertained the guests… some from overseas were especially happy to see this…xx

  3. Maine is definitely on my list of places to go. My husband visited a few years ago on a bike trip with his friend.

    • Our “main” destination was Bar Harbor. We spent time in Brunswick (Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain Museum), Saco, and Kennebunkport also. What part do you live in? I wish I had had the thought to message you. How are you?

Leave a Reply

