A Mongolian Tale

One of my favorite dishes as a meat-eater was chicken piccata. I ordered it pretty much every time we went to our favorite Italian restaurant. It’s one of the few dishes I miss a bit, but probably more from the lemony sauce and capers than the chicken. So imagine my delight to find Tempeh Piccata in “Chloe’s Kitchen”! As soon as I came across that recipe, I knew it had to be part of this week’s menu plan.

This recipe called for steaming the tempeh first. I had not done that in any of my prior tempeh recipes. It’s supposed to make the tempeh less bitter, but I actually don’t find it bitter at all, so I may leave that step out next time.  Since I was using my cast iron skillet, I did rub a tiny bit of oil in the pan, but I eliminated the vegan margarine. It was definitely not missed. I also added extra capers since we love them!   I served this dish over rice and with sautéed spinach.

I did double the recipe, since I knew I was going to love it and I wanted leftovers. Plus, I do have two big eaters in the house and I like to make sure I have enough. I am finding that I need to double most of Chloe’s recipes. Her serving size is clearly not the same as in my house.

(Doesn’t it even LOOK like chicken piccata???)

IMG_1203

Next up:

Mongolian BBQ Seitan – This was also a fabulous dish! I loved the homemade barbecue sauce with a kick from the chili-garlic sauce and the fragrance of the ground ginger, cinnamon and cloves. This really was a pretty easy dinner to put together — Chloe describes it as “effortless”. I did double the recipe (of course), but I tripled the sauce so we had a little extra to put over our rice.

Note: In the video, she starts with making her seitan from scratch… I did not do this; I purchased the seitan and it was just as delicious. Just skip ahead on the video; you can also find the recipe online in print format.

IMG_1198

IMDb: A Mongolian Tale (1995)

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Mongolian Tale

Leave a Reply

