Reflections

I always view the New Year as a time of reflection — on both the year that ended, and the year to come. I count myself as one of those relieved that 2016 is over. It was a tough year, complete with disappointments, uncertainty, fear and loss. Many of these things have distracted me from focusing on my health, and I found myself a bit stuck in negative feelings.

To be fair, 2016 had a lot of highlights as well: parties, dinners and game nights with family and friends, volunteer activities, vacations and trips (New Hope, Cleveland, Lake Placid, Virginia, Brockway, NYC), music events (recitals, concerts, football games), Marina’s engagement, Mikayla’s off Broadway play, and a few weddings. We had a year of continued good health, with me passing cancer-versary #4, and blessings of all sorts. I am grateful for so much in my life, but the ups and downs of the past year were draining.

So where do we go from here?

I’m not necessarily a big “resolutions” person. I’d like to think I am reflecting on my life all year long, continually looking for ways to be a better person and to improve our lives. But as we start the new year, I wanted to think about the areas that should be priorities.

Yesterday I watched a video produced by our church about having your Best.Year.Ever. (Watch here.) The first principle is to start with the end in mind, meaning: think about where you want your life to be at the end of 2017 and create a blueprint of how to get there.

I’ve always struggled with long range plans and answering questions like “where do you see yourself in 5 years?” Or even 1 year.  I’ve been around the block enough to know that life doesn’t always go the way you plan or expect. Those curve balls keep coming so I find it hard to be very specific on where I want to be in a set period of time.

That said, here are my high level areas of focus for 2017:

  • Re-commit to my Health (and that of my family).  This includes getting back to clean eating (no oil, no processed, etc.),  cooking more and eating out less, juicing, more water, and exercise. I need to get back on the treadmill, and I really miss yoga.
  • Spend more quality time with family and friends. Laughter is good for the soul, and so is time with the people you love. Combine them, and it’s nothing short of heaven. 🙂
  • Read more. Write more.
  • Be grateful and look for the little joys in life.
  • Declutter. Simplify.
  • Pray more, and accept each new challenge with grace and strength.

As you reflect on 2016 and starting anew in 2017, what’s on your list?

IMDb: Reflections (1984)

2 thoughts on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

