Done in Oil

I have had a number of people ask me over the past few weeks “why no oil?”  Since I follow (mostly) a WFPBNO diet (that’s whole food plant based no oil), oil is always a discussion point. How do you sauté’? How do you make salad dressing? Isn’t olive oil supposed to be good for you?

I’ve taken to responding simply “the fat you eat is the fat you wear”, a catchy phrase I picked up in one of my plant-based eating groups on Facebook.

In the name of full disclosure, I do get some oil in my diet. It’s pretty hard to avoid unless you eat home all. the. time.  But we don’t, so clearly, I’m getting some oil in restaurant meals. My goal is not to ever cook with it. I try to eliminate it from every recipe I can.  If I shoot for ZERO oil, when I do consume it, it’s very rarely and not an impact to my health and weight.

To answer the prior questions… I saute’ with water or veggie broth (not too much of either so as not to steam).  There are hundreds of salad dressings that can be made without oil.  As for olive oil…?  It’s “better than”, say, saturated fats or trans fats or lard.  But fat is fat is fat… and olive oil is 100% fat.

I found this article: “What About Oils?” that does a fabulous job of explaining “no oil” in more detail.  A little olive oil here, a little there… and before you know it, you’ve consumed the equivalent of 100 olives. Would you ever eat 100 olives in a day…?  Anyway, click on the link and let Sonia explain!

For the record, I’m aware that my body needs some fats to stay healthy and functioning on all cylinders. I get those fats primarily from avocados, nuts and seeds.

*******

My new recipes for the week:

  • Thyme Cabernet Gravy – I was looking for a tasty oil free gravy for something different on my lunch time baked potatoes. This one is fabulous!  And I didn’t even follow the recipe that closely.  It’s forgiving, so use what you have.  I used regularly whole wheat flour to replace the brown rice flour, dried thyme instead of fresh, and Pinot Noir instead of Cabernet Sauvignon.  So good!
  • Creamy Polenta and Mushrooms – My only complaint about making this one was we ran out!  This was delicious, even if not vegan. There was a bit of cheese (which was optional), but since it was 1/4 cup across 3 servings, I added it. I used a bit of oil, but not the full tablespoons of oil and butter in the recipe. We enjoyed this so much, I’m making it again this week (double batch this time) since Ethan wasn’t home for dinner that night.  He loves mushrooms!
  • I made a broccoli and cauliflower soup that I didn’t like at all.  David was a good sport and took the leftovers for lunch, but that recipe went to the garbage.  Oh well, they can’t all be hits!

IMDb: Done in Oil (1917)

 

Leave a Reply

