Day One

Day One seemed to go pretty well for my husband.  He had the oatmeal for breakfast, along with a green smoothie.  I thought the oatmeal was plenty sweet just from the fruit, but he did need to add some almond milk and brown sugar.  If you need a little sugar (emphasis on “a little”) to eat your oatmeal, then go for it.  (Said Dr. McDougall at the advance study weekend I attended.)  When you cook your own food, you aren’t getting all that added sugar, so a teaspoon in your oatmeal is not going to kill you.

I made myself the same wrap I made David for lunch.  I actually thought it was delicious — with lots and lots of veggies.  The only downfall was that the wrap was a teeny bit soggy from the tomatoes and cucumbers.  I was worried about that, and my plant-based Facebook friends suggested I use a piece of dry lettuce to act as a barrier. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any lettuce.  I texted David to forewarn him, but his response text said “Not too soggy. Actually pretty good.”  Score!  But I do have to figure out how to make it not soggy… maybe I’ll have to have him assemble himself at work…

David’s first words after walking into the house from work “well, I didn’t die!” (So dramatic!!) 🙂

For dinner, I tried another new recipe from the Jazzy Vegetarian book: Rockin’ Moroccan Stew. David loved it and ate two bowls; Ethan wasn’t crazy about the rice I served it over and picked at his meal a bit.  I thought it was tasty. A little kick but not too spicy. The good news? There are leftovers and I won’t have to pack a sandwich for tomorrow!

Yesterday I made Jazzy’s Lemon and Shiitake Mushroom Spaghetti with Capers.  If you click on this link, you can find it on Google eBooks.  I really enjoyed this one because I love capers.  Salty and tangy, but not overly so.  The only things I would do differently are:  a) double the mushrooms and b) add enough broth to cover a full pound of pasta.  I’m never quite sure what to do with recipes that don’t call for the whole box.  I mean, what am I going to do with a 1/4 pound of spaghetti?

In all, day one was a success ~ despite the butter he put on his Italian bread.  I must confess, though… I did, too.

IMDb: Day One (2012)

One thought on “Day One

  1. Salad as a barrier and draining the rest i.e. cucumbers. For tomatoes only using the flesh and skin helps. If you can you could use a bit salt to drain the cucumbers up front ina colander … just a thought. I also like to ‘filet’ peppers, they are good barriers as well. Depending how you build your wraps the liquid is also contained inside pretty well and doesn’t flow out on the other end. Ha I love plant filled wraps!

Leave a Reply

