The Husband

January 10th will my 3 year veg-iversary.  After 3 years of eating a whole food plant based diet, you would think I would have have been able to get my husband to convert.  When I’m cooking, he does eat what I cook — and enjoys it! But left to his own devices, he will eat meat… and eggs… and lots and lots of cheese and butter.

So after much persuading, I was able to get him to agree to eating plant based…full time…for two weeks. The promise is that he will be fully compliant for these 14 days.  That means no meat, no dairy, no eggs, and no added oil.  At the end of two weeks, if he doesn’t feel remarkably better and lose some weight, then I will stop “encouraging”. (I’m sure he would use the word “nagging”.)

He needs to lose 20 pounds, give or take, and I’d like to see him get off of his cholesterol meds (which will eventually destroy his liver). I think the alkaline diet will help the inflammation that causes arthritic pain in his joints. This will, in turn, reduce the amount of anti-inflammatory medications he takes on a daily basis.  There really is no down side to eating plant based.

In order to help him be successful, I had to do some extra planning and preparing. Typically, when I menu plan, I don’t worry about breakfast or lunch. For me, breakfast is a green smoothie and some fruit.  Lunch is typically a baked potato or leftovers.  But I don’t want him to have any excuses for not following 100%, so I’m doing all the work.

For breakfast, I have a crock pot full of steel cut oats slow cooking.  The recipe is from Oh She Glows:  Crock Pot Apple Spice Steel Cut Oats.

For lunch, I whipped up a double batch of Roasted Red Pepper Hummus. I used a few different recipes, but it ended up being: 2 cans garbanzo beans (drained & rinsed), 1 jar roasted red peppers (drained), 2 T tahini, a few cloves of garlic, and juice of 1/2 lemon.  I will be making him veggie wraps: spinach tortillas, the red pepper hummus, cucumbers, spinach, tomatoes, and sprouts.  He also gets some healthy tortilla chips and several pieces of fruit.  (I even peeled the clementines for him…. NO excuses!)

Dinner will be planned as usual — some new recipes from my Christmas present: “Jazzy Vegetarian Classics: Vegan Twists on American Family Favorites”, along with some oldie-but-goodies.

I know many of you are thinking “poor guy”.  No meat? No dairy? No oil?

But remember this: NOTHING tastes as good as healthy feels.

I’ll keep you posted!!

IMDb: The Husband (2013)

4 thoughts on “The Husband

  1. Hi,
    I will be interested to hear how David is doing, I too need to turn us both around. My problem is me, I really like all of the things I should avoid. I (we) are eating less meat. But I haven’t been able to give up chicken or fish.

    • Good luck! I know giving up meat seems hard core, but the more you educate yourself, the more you will understand why it’s in your best interests to give it up. Start by giving it up a few days a week, and then expand on that. If you knew what I knew about chicken, you’d neve eat it again! 🙂 I’m happy to recommend some great recipes or books!
      And you’ll know how David is doing by how cranky he is at work! lol

  2. I look forward to the end result… Lets hope he can really feel the difference… Especially the immflamuation in his body… Pain should reduce … Wishing you and your family a good 2016

    • Thank you, Helen! I’m hoping he can see the difference and that he gives it sufficient time. He’s not the most patient man! 🙂 I hope 2016 brings you much joy and happiness!

Leave a Reply

