The Swimsuit Issue

I was never much of a swimmer nor a lover of water. I had the same bathing suits for years (decades, even?) because they rarely got used. I would much rather sit in the shade sipping a cool drink and reading a book than spending time in the water. So when I had my double mastectomy, I figured that was the end of swimsuits for me. I regularly joke “you do NOT want to see this body in a swimsuit”.

But then my husband’s employer decided to have their annual holiday party at Kalahari in the Pocono Mountains.  For those of you unfamiliar with Kalahari, it’s a resort with an indoor water park. Our reservations include tickets for 4 to the water park and we will be taking my son and a friend of his with us. Suddenly I am met with the challenge of actually putting THIS body into a swim suit. Horrors!

The search was on, and an easy task it was not. I spent hours on Google trying to find the right cut / fit. I ended up on sites that were ridiculously expensive or cuts that just weren’t going to work.  No. I am not spending $200 on a bathing suit that I will wear once a year, if I’m lucky.  Most had cups and underwire (don’t miss that!), or were cut down to “there”. Not really a good look for many, never mind post-mastectomy.

Finally I landed on the Hapari site. A few looked interesting, and some even said “mastectomy-friendly”. But even those seemed to have cups or places to insert prostheses, so I wasn’t sure. Eventually, I emailed the company and asked if they had any recommendations. I was really pleased with their customer service… they responded within 24 hours and provided several links of tankini options that might work. Most had either really thin cups, or removable cups.

I ordered 3 different styles and decided on this one:  JoBurg Classic Bandeau Tankini

I still need to find a bottom.  I had ordered one that had drawstrings that you could adjust the length, but even with those, it was just a tad too short for my comfort. Seems that might be an easier piece to find, however.

So after years of saying “never”… Kalahari, here I come!

IMDb: The Swimsuit Issue (2008)

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Swimsuit Issue

Leave a Reply

