The Quiz

I saw the following Breast Health Quiz on Facebook and, of course, I was curious. There is a series of 18 questions on things that impact your risk of breast cancer.  I took the quiz based on my current lifestyle, not my pre-breast cancer diagnosis lifestyle and ended up with a result of “you’re doing an adequate job” of maintaining healthy breasts.  Yikes!  Only “adequate”?  I suppose there are some risk factors that don’t ever go away, like silver fillings in your teeth.

What I loved in the response I got were the recommendations:

#1 was “Let food be your medicine.”  How cool is that???  I love finally starting to see education on the impact that food has on your health. Word is getting out!

#2 “Reduce your toxic exposure.”  Enough said.

#3 was “Balance your energy and your hormones.”  Both are things I am working on with the Estriol, and with my energy healer!

I encourage you to take the quiz as well! It seems like there is some really good information for maintaining healthy breasts – you should get more details in an email.  Click here for the quiz.

*****

It’s been a while since I’ve shared some recipes.  I’ve found some new sources, so here are some recent dinners:

Straight Up Food is a new blog that I found with lots of great recipes.  The first I tried tonight was Tomato Rice Soup. This was easy (minimal chopping) and delicious. You do need to allow about 40 minutes for cooking time. The only substitution I made was to use Wegman’s “Super Greens” instead of just Swiss chard. It made about 10 cups, which was more than enough for dinner, plus some for lunch for a few days!  I have a few more of Cathy’s recipes lined up to try. We’re off to a great start!

Chipotle Oyster Mushroom Tacos from “Isa Does It”. These were delicious! Everyone enjoyed them — a little kick, some chewy mushrooms (I had to use shiitake since I couldn’t find oyster mushrooms at the store), and the coolness of avocado. I had a little leftover that I put on my baked potato for lunch the next day.  I don’t have a link to this recipe, but I recommend Isa’s book. It’s one of my favorite cookbooks, although I hadn’t been using it much lately (too many great sources for recipes!).  I dusted it off recently and found this new recipe, as well as reconnecting with a few others we love but hadn’t had in a while (White Wine Risotto, Dilly Stew, Broccoli Cheddar Soup….) Mmmmm…

Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream – Super easy (4 ingredients) and tasty! A healthier sweet treat and totally vegan. The only alteration I made was to reduce the maple syrup from 1/3 to 1/4 cup.  My sweetness sensors are in overdrive anymore so I didn’t want it to be TOO sweet.

Enjoy!

*****

IMDb: The Quiz (1994)

Leave a Reply

