The Strength of the Weak

I made the mistake of scheduling two doctors’ appointments on the same day. It happened because I had to go back for a follow up with my gynecologist for the lichen schlerosus. I scheduled that for after work, but didn’t realize at the time that I also had a mid-day appointment with my oncologist. I figured it would all be fine, although my oncologist is notoriously (and ridiculously) late every appointment. As it turns out, both doctors were really behind schedule and I spent 3 hours and 20 minutes just sitting — either in a waiting room or the exam room.

Both appointments, I am happy to say, went well.  First, my labs, tumor markers, vitals and physical exam were all perfect. Second, although they were ready to do a biopsy, with all equipment neatly laid out in the exam room, my lichen schlerosus has really cleared up (almost gone). I credit the frankincense, as I saw more improvements when I started using that than I did with the steroid cream.

*****

In other news, I am very excited (truly!) to start using estriol cream. Since the lichen sclerosus seems to be connected with low hormone levels, I was checking with my dear friend, Dr. Lisa, from Nowhere to Run. She indicated that she was using the estriol cream and recommended it for me.  I checked with a local doctor who specializes in treating hormone imbalances and he recommended it, saying it was low risk compared to taking other estrogens. My naturalist thought it was a great idea also.

I checked with my oncologist and, surprisingly, she said she thought it would be just fine to use. (I fully expected a “no” on this one, so it gave me a lot of comfort on the safety side when she said yes.)  My gynecologist was open to gathering more information, which he did, and today his office called to say my Rx was called in.

To give you a little background, estriol is highly recommended by Suzanne Somers (she swears by it in terms of safety, health restoration, and vitality). One of her doctors, Jonathan Wright, has done a lot of work and research on estriol.  It is the weakest of the three estrogens and was previously thought to be of no use to the medical community.  They are finding, however, that “it’s weakness is it’s strength” in that you get the benefits of an estrogen (relief of menopausal symptoms, improvements in vaginal dryness/atrophy, cardio health, bone density improvements, etc.), without the increased risk of hormone-dependent cancers.  It’s even been linked to improvements with MS.  Check out the above link for more information, if you are interested.

I’m so excited to be off work tomorrow so I can drive to the compounding center to pick up my estriol!

IMDb: The Strength of the Weak (1915)

Leave a Reply

