Weird Science

A few weeks ago, at my annual gynecologist appointment, I was diagnosed with a skin condition called “lichen sclerosus“. Considering the type of doctor, I’ll let you guess where this and will save the gory details. You can click on the link above if you are interested in more information.  This is not something I had ever heard of (if there’s something weird you can get, you can be sure I will get it), but my doctor explained that it occurs mostly in menopausal women and they surmise that it is due to low hormone levels. (Your hormones are important for SO many things… It’s things like this that make me happy I stopped taking the Femara, which made all my hormone levels about “zero”.)

At my appointment, and given my history, my doctor asked if I wanted him to do a biopsy…?!?!?  Hell, no!!!  I didn’t even have to think about this. Just the shot to numb the area would be unpleasant enough, as he admitted.  For some reason, the concern that it was something cancerous was only fleeting, and he seemed pretty confident that it was not cancer — having seen this before, obviously — so I was not ready to jump into the biopsy game.

So, wonderful man that he is, he agreed to first treat me with a steroidal cream for 4 weeks, and I have to go back to have it checked.  If not better, he will do a biopsy then. Oh yea. The good news is that I am noticing a big difference, so hopefully it’s all better by the time the appointment comes around. I don’t even want to think about a biopsy “there”.

I’ve also started using coconut oil and frankincense essential oil to help things along, after reading this article. Quite honestly, I’m inclined to think the frankincense is more responsible for the improvements, rather than the steroid cream.

*****

This past week was my quarterly appointment with my naturalist and she saw some things that could definitely be contributing to the lichen schlerosus, as well as to my sleep issues and my reduced energy levels. Here I was thinking it was all stress related, but “lead” came up as a key issue. As in “get the lead out”. We don’t tend to think of all the lead in our environment (from a variety of sources), or heavy metals in general, but they are there, and they are often the little mysteries of why we don’t feel well.

The lead can contribute to an overgrowth of yeast, which may then also contribute to the lichen sclerosus. So to detox from the lead, I’ll be taking Milk Thistle; to detox the yeast, I’ll be taking a Cancordistat homeopathic remedy. My estrogen levels were indeed low, so I’ll be adding Red Raspberry Blend to my daily regime of herbal hormones. (For the record, I thought this would taste yummy, but bleh…not so much.) I will also take Thyrodine to strengthen my thyroid after my CT scan from a few weeks ago, L-Lysine to help heal my skin, and Red Beet Root for energy. All of these new things are temporary (one month) until I’m back to normal.

As a reminder, if you have any exposure to radiation (airport security, x-rays, etc.), take an epsom salt and baking soda bath (enough salt to “float” in, and for 20 minutes), to help detox your body and protect your thyroid. I neglected to do this after my last CT scan, but I did it as soon as I got home from my naturalist appointment!

Next up… results of the CT scan tomorrow…

*****

IMDb: Weird Science (1985)

3 thoughts on “Weird Science

Leave a Reply

