Braveheart

I mentioned yesterday that I was in Connecticut for a few days. I was actually quite privileged to have the opportunity to be part of a panel discussion on healthy eating. The panel consisted of a nutritionist, one of my colleagues who eats extremely well (and is quite passionate about the topic), and me. The nutritionist gave guidelines for a healthy diet; my colleague and shared our personal stories on what led us to our respective ways of eating, along with how we try to make it work in busy lives. There was then a question and answer period where we answered prepared questions, as well as questions from the audience.

I am proud to work for a company that supports and encourages healthy behaviors. The event was very well received, with a lot of great questions. It was great to be able to share my story and to possibly inspire people to take control of their health through a healthy diet. Even if only one person walked away and made changes, it will have been worth the trip.

*****

Also while in Connecticut I had the opportunity to meet with two amazing and strong women who are currently dealing with breast cancer. The first woman, someone I had never met before, has a second instance of breast cancer, but a different type. I have not heard of this situation before. The first cancer was ER positive and this time she is triple negative. What’s scary to me is that this lovely woman has done even more research, eaten a clean diet, and tried more alternative treatments than anyone I know. And yet, here she is, still fighting for survival a second time. Unfortunately, many of the alternative doctors reviewed in Suzanne Somers’ book, Knock Out, require quite a sum of money out of pocket, but she’s still looking into them. What a shame to have to remortgage your house and take loans from your 401(k) just to get alternative medical treatment, because insurance won’t cover it.

When I met with her, I was expecting to provide her comfort and advice, and instead, I was the one who benefited. She encouraged me to get back to juicing in a big way, to look into thermography, enzymes, ave ultra, and pectin. (I’ve got some homework to do!) She also strongly encouraged me to do the coffee enemas recommended as part of the Gerson Therapy. She swears by it, viewing this 20 minutes a day as her relaxation time. It’s supposed to help within detoxing your liver, but I don’t know if I’m quite brave enough for that. (You all will be the first to know if I do!  Although maybe TMI?) It’s been a while since I’ve been on the Gerson site, so it may be time to circle back to that. She also recommended Cancer Treatment Centers of America.

The second woman is someone I have known for several years. She is still dealing with the initial shock of her diagnosis and is trying to get a handle on the overwhelming amount of information that you have to take in. She has had a number of tests this past week and we are praying for good news that it’s early and an easy one to treat.

Both of these women called me on the same day last week and I was honored (although saddened) to be able to talk to them both. I appreciate your prayers for these brave women.

*****

Today I had the joy of another CT scan as part of my kidney follow ups. Yee haw. For the first time, I had to do oral contrast, in addition to the usual IV contrast. I wasn’t looking forward to this since my prior experience is that oral contrast is yucky and chalky. I was pleasantly surprised that the new and improved contrast is a bit like a thin milk shake. I had the enjoyment of a whopping 32 ounces (one bottle before I arrived, and another when I got there) of moccachino smoothie. The taste was good, but the bloating is not!

I tried to get some information on why my doctor requested the oral contrast, since I never had it before, but I couldn’t get an answer. Guess I’ll have to ask him when I see him next month.  I also had to stop eating 4 hours before — liquids only — so I got to eat lunch at 10:30 a.m. today.  Now I will just hold my breath until I get my results.

As a reminder — ALWAYS ask for a copy of any medical reports. a) It’s your right to know. b) You don’t have to wait for your doctor’s appointment, since it typically shows up in the mail first. c) You have a copy for your records. d) You have the opportunity to review it so you can ask questions!

IMDb: Braveheart (1995)

Leave a Reply

