The Birthday Cake

Tomorrow is my baby brother’s birthday. Every year my mom made his birthday cake… vanilla cake, with crushed pineapple, vanilla pudding and Cool Whip. Every single year. And so last year, I took over the cake-making responsibilities.  For today’s birthday celebration, I figured I would make the vanilla pudding (yes, the instant kind) using almond milk. For a brief moment, I wondered if it would work but thought I was being silly.  Of course it will work!

You know where this is going, right? No. It did not work. I had a bowl of vanilla soup. Once I realized it was never going to thicken, I decided to Google my blunder and, sure enough, it tells you it won’t work… unless you use half the almond milk. That wouldn’t have left me with enough pudding anyway, so I had to make an emergency run to the store for more pudding mix and “regular” milk (aka “cow’s milk”).

Yes, I understand that none of this was really vegan or healthy, but it’s not something I do every day and I’m not going to sweat one piece of cake. My brother was happy, and that’s all that matters in this case. 🙂

*****

I’ve written before about how I find pennies all the time. These pennies from Heaven appear in unlikely places and at unlikely times.  The other day, I found a penny in the coin return at the car wash. I was putting my quarters into the slot when I noticed the penny sitting there. They do always make my day!

*****

No new recipes from last week and none planned for this week. My schedule has been hectic so there’s been no time to review cookbooks. I’ve been picking the quickest of my existing repertoire because I have been getting home from work late and then rushing off to band, yoga, church group, or some other appointment. I’m trying not to let the frantic pace of my schedule stress me out, but it’s not always easy to remain calm. It is important though, so I will just try to remember to breathe and do the best I can.

IMDb: The Birthday Cake (2009)

Leave a Reply

