Wish You Were Here

Dear Mom,

I wish you were here. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of you a hundred times. I miss our daily conversations. You were the best listener and were always interested in my stories, always asking questions, wanting to know more. Our conversations always just flowed, and I miss them. I think of you every day I drive to work when I remember that I can’t call you for our morning chat. Or when I try a new recipe or see the doctor or accomplish something at work. When I see an old friend or go on vacation. Always stories I want to share with you.

I wish you were here. Ethan has passed us all out in height and continues to be a kind and gentle soul. He loved you so and he remembers you in his prayers.  He does his best to keep Grandpa company after school, although I don’t think they chat the way you and he did. You were Ethan’s confidante as well; he trusted you with all his secrets.

I wish you were here. We have carried on with each sunrise and each sunset, but it’s not the same. Your house looks exactly the same, with your crafts in the same piles that you left them in a year ago, but it’s not the same. We miss your presence at concerts and holidays and family game night. We miss your cookies, your voice, your laughter. We miss you telling us to “be careful” and “call when you get there”. We miss your love — always selfless and unconditional.

I can’t believe a year has gone by already. The day you died is so clear, as if it happened yesterday. I know you are near. I feel your presence and your love. But I wish you were here.

Until we meet again,
Michele

ry=400

 

IMDb: Wish You Were Here (2012)

6 thoughts on “Wish You Were Here

  1. Thinking of you and yours, Michele. Know that I keep you in my thoughts and prayers. How wonderful to have such loving and warm memories and what a gift you were given in your mom. Be comforted each day by those wonderful memories. Hugs, friend.

  2. Michele, that was beautiful! It’s going to be 15 years for my mom and I still want to pick up the phone and call her and tell her about my day. Prayers are with you today and always. 💕

Leave a Reply

