The Organizer

Tumor marker results were good — yay!!!  16.64 ~ consistent with where I’ve been since my treatment finished. I am typically between 15 & 17 against a “normal” range of 0-37. Always a relief to hear.

*****

I previously wrote about the Christmas present I got from my stepdaughter — a Gneiss Spice set with magnetic lids for storing on the refrigerator. I loved them so much that I ordered a make-your-own set of 24 jars and I spent the morning cleaning out my spice cabinet and transferring spices to my new set of jars.

I don’t know about you, but I find it’s really easy to lose my spices. They get buried in the cabinet behind all the other spices and it’s a pain to find them. I buy more, thinking I’m out, and then find the old one later. I had 4 cinnamons, 3 paprikas, and doubles of a lot of things. So I filled my Gneiss jars, labeled them, and put all the “extras” in a Tupperware bin for future use. So now, with the exception of the more frequently used items that are next to the stove, all my spices are nicely organized on my fridge. So handy… easy to find them and easy to see what I need more of. No more doubles and triples, and no more struggling to find what I need when I’m cooking. Given the variety of our diet, I never know what I might need on a given night. While these jars were a little pricey, I think it will be well worth it in terms of saved time and frustration! (I even have a few empty ones for new spices!)

IMG_1110

I’m on a roll with organizing since last weekend I purged and organized the kitchen pantry. Still more work to be done, but it feels good to be less cluttered. It drives me crazy when I can’t find what I need.

*****

The latest Oh She Glows recipe is Immunity-boosting Tomato Sauce with Mushrooms, served over pasta. I was about to ask the boys if they liked this recipe, but at that time, they were both reaching for their third helping, so the question seemed unnecessary. Ethan did pick out the chunks of tomatoes, but otherwise, everyone enjoyed this. We all love mushrooms and haven’t found a mushroom recipe yet that we didn’t like.

I look forward to trying a few more of Angela’s recipes in the coming week. It’s a super busy week and I’m looking to try a few of her quicker recipes, like the 15-minute creamy avocado pasta.  That one is contingent on finding avocados that are the right ripeness! Because we all know the window of opportunity is about two minutes long!

hB664F08F

*****

IMDb: The Organizer (1963)

Leave a Reply

