4 thoughts on “A Question of Ethics

  1. Michele, as I mentioned in your Facebook posting on this topic, my objection in this particular case isn’t really about the effect(s) of chemotherapy, poison vs medicine, science vs witchdoctoring, or anything else of the sort. I have opinions about medical science, but this case isn’t about medicine, rather, it’s about the reach of government. “Reach” as in the notion that a state government can force an innocent individual to be confined against their will and then also forced to undergo an on-going and invasive medical procedure. Honestly, I am not some kind of anti-government Tea Party wacko, but come on, the notion of the government forcing anyone to undergo medical treatment against their will should be a frightening concept for all of us.

    My only “out” here? That would be if the young lady was completely unaware of her treatment options. At age 17 I think she should be able to make these INFORMED choices on her own. If, as some have noted, the mother in this case has been a negative influence, well then qualified medical professionals should provide the information the mother has not. At the end of the day though, this young lady should decide what goes into her body, not the State of Connecticut.

    When it comes down to brass tacks, if we can not control our own bodies, can we really control anything? If a government can force us, against our will, to undergo medical treatments then are there truly ANY LIMITS to the power of that government?

    Thanks for the opportunity to speak my mind on this topic.

    – Steve

  2. I completely agree with you. Forced medical intervention, particularly when it can itself be deadly, is a scary “big brother mentality.” The medical mafia has gone way too far. What happened to personal freedom?

    On a happier note, I love, love, love “Oh She Glows”. Even though I’m not a vegetarian, i use her recipes all the time. And she is so pretty, I just stare at the health emanating from her:)

    • She really DOES glow, doesn’t she??? That’s my goal! 🙂 I’m loving the few things that I have made so far. I think I’ll work my way through the book. She seems to have compiled recipes that omnivores will enjoy as well as vegs!

Leave a Reply

