A School Paper

I had some other things to write about today, but Ethan had me read his English assignment — about something routine — and I thought I would share that instead. I thought it was well written (yes, I am biased) and relevant. (I don’t think I’ve ever had a guest blogger on this site!)  🙂

*****

“”Boy, I’m glad that’s over,” I thought to myself. One hour earlier, I just got off the school bus at Grandpa’s house, as I always did. Now my mom, in her new white Rav4 covered in mud from the hood down, is pulling in the rocky driveway to pick me up. The front door creaked open as she stepped in.

“Boo,” I said to her.

“Eek,” she simply responded.

I’ve been doing that ever since I was a toddler as a greeting, though it seemed to have gotten old. While Mom was talking to Grandpa, most likely trying to explain something to him, I plopped my backpack into the back of Mom’s car and buckled into the passenger seat, waiting to leave.

“How was school?” Mom asked, as she drove down the main road I have known for years.

“Good,” I responded, as I always do to try to avoid conversation. “What’s for dinner?”

“Vegan Mushroom Stroganoff,” she answered. “I also thought we should juice. I could really use some today.”

“Yeah,” I agreed. “It’s been a while.”

To some, that may have sounded a little unusual for dinner on a school night, but not me. Ever since her last experience with cancer, my mom has been living on a healthy lifestyle, and she put the whole family on it for our sakes as well.

When we got home and made ourselves comfortable, Mom brought out the shiny, black juicing machine and readied the fruits and vegetables for our daily concoction. The result is a foamy, orange liquid that is tastier than people anticipate it to be.

The rest of the evening went as it usually did. My stepdad, David, came home after work with a loaf of Italian bread to eat with dinner. He and Mom engaged in their “nightly political debate” while I focused on my own thoughts at the dinner table. The routine is one that is almost exactly the same every day, but that is fine by us.”

*****

So my own quick comments… Yes, the Boo!/Eek! repartee started when he was young. When I went to pick Ethan up at my Mom’s every afternoon, he would hide and jump out at me, yelling “boo!” And, of course, my response was a very dramatic “eek!”  Now it’s sort of a “hey. boo. eek.” But our personal greeting. 🙂

I’m happy to say the political debates aren’t actually a nightly ritual as they once were. I lack the stamina of my husband for such discussions! Starting tonight, in a further effort to keep the conversation positive, we started a “happiness jar”. I found a lovely 2 gallon glass jar at Target and some colorful pieces of paper. At dinner, each person will have to write down something they were happy about that day. We will discuss over dinner and add to the jar each day. Any time we are having a bad day, we will be able to look through the jar and look at all we have to be grateful for. I’m looking forward to seeing how this goes! I expected some resistance, but got none. Yeah!

*****

IMDb: A School Paper (2015)

2 thoughts on “A School Paper

  1. Sounds like a great start to the New Year! Ha. I had to laugh at the political talk at dinner. That was us for awhile. My hubby started to see it my way. Keep on him. lol

    • You mean there’s hope, Gina??? My husband is a tough nut to crack. I can’t see me actually making any headway with him, but at least I’ve learned how to better manage myself in these discussions! 🙂

Leave a Reply

