The Birthday

Today was another tough “first”. My mother’s birthday. The first without her. It brought tears, but also a time to reflect and remember. I have shared so many great pictures of her in my blog, but I hope you will indulge me in a few more, as I remember her.

Here’s one of my in high school. I always loved pictures of my mom when she was younger. We rarely think of our mothers as young, beautiful, sexy… but she was!

 

Mom 1

 

Her second favorite role? Mother.  This is one is from my brother Joe’s First Communion. So I guess this is about 1968? Funny that, after all these years, I’m back to the hair style that my mother always insisted that I have! 🙂

Mom and Joe and Michele

 

I said Motherhood was “second” and that’s because Grandmother-hood took over the first spot with the birth of Katherine in 1990. There were so many grandmother pictures to choose from, but here’s two cute ones of Mom with Ethan. He totally adored her. She was my best friend, but I think it’s easy to say she was Ethan’s best friend as well.

 

 

 

 

Mom and Ethan 2003Mom and EThan 2005

Miss you, Mom. Love you lots!

RIPMom0-207x300

IMDb: The Birthday (2004)

 

8 thoughts on “The Birthday

  1. She absolutely looks as wonderful as she sounds. Be happy and so thankful that you carry that kind of love she showed you in your heart and every time you feel sad, be comforted by all those wonderful memories.

    • Thank you, Gina! I do try to think of that. I was blessed to have had a wonderful mother. I was blessed to have experienced all that she taught me about selflessness, generosity, love. And I was blessed to have had her for 52 years. I know many people aren’t as lucky in all of those regards. Love you, and thank you for your friendship!

  2. A mother’s love is special. My mother passed in 1968, at the young age of 43, she passed away three months following birth of my youngest daughter. I am grateful she was in my presence, her only child, give birth her three grandchildren. Her birthday is October 17.

Leave a Reply

