Dead Meat

Dr. Michael Greger is one of the impressive people I got to hear speak at the McDougall conference back in February. He was entertaining and extremely informative!  Dr. Greger launched and runs the non-profit organization “NutritionFacts.org”. I watched the replay of Dr. Greger’s presentation from the conference about five times, as there was SO much information in it.  And I continue to watch his videos on specific topics they he posts on a regular basis. As he likes to say, “he reads the research so you don’t have to”.

There are about 120 videos on his site just related to breast cancer. The latest is this one that talks about the cooked meat carcinogen “PhIP” (2-Amino-1-methyl-6-phenylimidazo[4,5-b]pyridine)  and how it not only triggers cancer and promotes tumor growth, but it also increases its metastatic potential.  I posted this on Facebook with the comment “Reason #1001 why I avoid meats in my diet”. I recommend watching it, particularly if you are a breast cancer survivor.

For the record, PhIP is found in cooked beef, pork, chicken, and fish products, although Dr. Greger specifically calls out bacon, fish and chicken.

*****

Speaking of cancer, I wanted to share this “Go Fund Me” initiative to help my high school classmate pay for treatment for ovarian cancer. 6 cm and 8 cm tumors were found and she needs a complete hysterectomy. Because she has limited insurance, they are advising her to do this as a cash payment, and it sounds like they are waiting until she can pay for it before proceeding (which just seems so unethical to me). Any help you can provide would be appreciated, even if it’s just a dollar. Prayers are also welcome. Thank you!

*****

From the kitchen: I’m still loving my spiralizer and tried making spiral potatoes over the weekend. I even “fried” them without any oil. With the teensiest bit of sour cream and bit of salt, they tasted like potato pancakes! Without the sour cream, they tasted like French fries.

Cooking without oil (and, in fact, without adding anything to the pan) seems to be successful if you use the right kind of pan. I am using a non-stick pan that my mom had received as a gift. I borrowed it from my dad since I know he’s not using it, and it worked great!

*****

In my quest to limit oil in my diet, I tried this oil-free hummus recipe tonight. I added spinach to mine, as the optional ingredient, so it came green. It was a bit lemony, but otherwise tasted pretty good. I plan on having some for lunch for a few days.

*****

IMDb: Dead Meat (2004)

4 thoughts on “Dead Meat

  1. Again, thank you for sharing. I purchased a spiralizer months ago, but every time I ask my husband if he is willing to try zucchini in place of brown rice, the answer is “no.” Next time, I plan not to ask, just prepare and serve. Will post the results.

  2. Hi Michele. Would you have any idea if I would be able to watch the replay of Dr. Greger’s presentation?

    • Kelly, you can go to NutritionFacts.org and search on a variety of topics. I had the pleasure of hearing Dr. Greger speak in person last year and he does tons of research. This particular video is definitely available for replay. In paragraph 2 of this post, just click on the words “this one”…it’s a hyperlink to the video. Let me know if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

