Day of the Flowers

I got to go to the local farmers’ market at lunch today (Thanks, Chris!). Even though I went grocery shopping yesterday, I couldn’t help making a few purchases: leaf lettuce, red beets, corn on the cob, a loaf of bread and some olive rolls, and zucchini flowers. I was most excited about the latter purchase!

I grew up enjoying “pumpkin flowers”. My mother always made those, dipped in egg and flour, and, of course, fried. They were delicious and I looked forward to those delicacies for the brief time we got to enjoy them every summer. I was so glad that Chris pointed them out at the market. I bought a dozen. I made a light batter with water and flour and bit of egg. And then, yes, I fried them. I imagine there are other ways to cook them, but I wanted them to taste the way my mom used to make them. I think she would have enjoyed them.  I know Ethan and I did!

*****

By the way, I am still waiting for my oncologist’s office to call me with my tumor marker results. I called and left a message on Friday but no one called me back yet. *sigh* I suppose no news is good news, but I’d like to know for certain.

*****

New recipes:

FOK Broccoli Rice Casserole with FOK “No Cheese” Cheese Sauce. These were both easy to make but I made them even easier by a) using my Instant Pot to cook the rice, and b) steaming the broccoli in the microwave. The cheese sauce was easily whipped up in the food processor. We devoured a 13×9″ pan of the stuff, with a teensy bit left over for lunch today.

Spinach Artichoke Wonderpot was another easy and yummy one-pot pasta dish. I think it was a bit too much like something I made last week. Since I love spinach & artichoke dip, I think I was hoping for a bit more of a tang.

*****

IMDb: Day of the Flowers (2013)

 

4 thoughts on “Day of the Flowers

Leave a Reply

