The Kitchen Lady

Now that I cook all the time, I love my kitchen gadgets!  I hate to buy too many, as I struggle with space to store them. (I’m always assessing what I can get rid of or move around to make room for the new stuff!) Here are my latest three purchases…

1. Spoon holder for pots.
I purchases this at a country store near Monticello. It attaches to the side of the pot and allows you to hold your spoon directly on the pot, rather than dirtying a spoon rest. I’ve used it a few times already and love it.  $6.00

photo (40)

 

2. Paderno Tri-Blade Spiral Vegetable Slicer
I’ve been using my little cheapy spiral gadget but have decided I need something better. Before I could even begin researching, I saw this blog by Urban Vegan Chic and my purchase was easy! $35.96

3. Salad Spinner
As I make more salads, I find myself wishing I had one of these. (I know, you are probably all surprised how I made it this far without one!) There were some pricey spinners (about $30) but I opted for a more manual Ikea spinner for $9.92. The reviews were decent and I figured it would do the trick without too much expense.

The good new for the last two items? I had some cash back dollars from my Discover card, plus an Amazon gift card, plus Amazon Prime free shipping. Total out of pocket?  $0.92!

*****

Latest recipes:

Forks Over Knives Taco Salad with Cilantro-Lime Dressing
This was one was good, for a nice hearty salad. The salad dressing was interesting, something different, but I’m not sure this would go on my list of repeat recipes. We enjoyed it, but not enough to make it again.

Another one pot pasta dish (similar to the tomato basil pasta dish). I can’t find the link to it, but basically, I altered it to include all my leftover veggies, plus some half eaten bags of frozen… I used corn, peas, broccoli, shredded carrot, shallots, 2 cans of diced tomatoes (with Italian seasons), one package of whole wheat spaghetti, and about 4-5 cups of veggie broth. Boil and then simmer until pasta is cooked. It was easy, yummy, and simple!

*****

 IMDb: The Kitchen Lady (1918)

Leave a Reply

