My Blueberry Nights

My great Aunt Pauline brought me a huge bag of blueberries last night and I set right to work! I put a quick post on the Plant Based Junkies page and instantly had a recommendation for the Engine 2 Blueberry Dumpster Cake.  It was ridiculously easy to prepare with just a handful of ingredients you probably already have on hand. Throw the blueberries on top and bake. Voila!

photo (39)

The kids liked it, although it reminded them more of a blueberry pancake. I thought it was super, especially considering there are no eggs, no dairy and no sugar added!  A sweet treat without the guilt. 🙂

Blueberries are soooo good for you, and now is the season. I’ve been eating them every day on my breakfast, either oatmeal or brown rice, with a little almond milk and sprinkle of brown sugar.  Yum!  But these blueberries are even better than the ones I have been buying. Plump amd juicy!! I’m sure we will eat them up in no time, although I may try to freeze some.

Get those fresh blueberries while you can!!

*****

Tonight, it was a new recipe: Chipotle Black Bean and Quinoa Crock-Pot Stew.  We enjoyed this, but I didn’t totally love-love it. I served it over angel hair pasta as a switch up from brown rice, and it was more like a chili, or a thick meat sauce (minus the meat, of course!) I did cook this in my new favorite gadget, the Instant Pot. It was the first time I used dried beans, and the stew cooked for 10 hours on the slow cooker setting. It was also the first time I used dried chipotle peppers. It took me a while to find them in the grocery store, but find them, I did! They start out all dried and shriveled up, but they finish up like a cooked green pepper.

*****

A friend of mine lent me her copy of the Forks Over Knives Cookbook; more reading to do!

*****

IMDb: My Blueberry Nights (2007)

Leave a Reply

