Stuck On You

As I sat down to do my weekly menu planning, it was the first time in a year and a half that I actually felt a little stuck. While I try to incorporate at least one new recipe every week, with the intention of not getting bored, I was just at a loss for what to do and struggled to come up with a plan. Usually, I whip together a weekly menu in no time at all. I think I was stuck between wanting to use my new Instant Pot and not having the time to peruse recipes on the Internet. (I did manage to find one that I will make during the week.) Plus, with a lot of things going on, I was looking for easy.

And so, after much debate, my menu features black bean tacos (easy, and my husband’s favorite), black bean chipotle and quinoa stew (Instant Pot, and no, there is no such thing as too many black beans), and pasta (super easy). There’s a question mark on Thursday and I’m hoping to have leftovers!

*****

I purchased a beautiful zucchini at the local produce stand today and wasn’t sure what to do with it (the old favorite of breaded and fried just doesn’t do it for me any more, and I have been grilling throughout the summer). And then I remember the cute little spiraling gadget that we had purchased a few months ago. I spiraled half the zucchini and half a carrot, and then made a quick dressing of lime juice (I was out of lemons), a teeny bit olive oil (less than a teaspoon), and a few dashes of cumin and sea salt. It was absolutely delicious!!!  So so easy to make and very tasty. I’ll definitely be making this again.  Doesn’t it even look beautiful?

photo (38)

*****

Just to make sure I didn’t get stuck again, I ordered two new cookbooks!  The “Engine 2 Diet” (featuring Dr. Esselstyn’s son Rip, who is a fire fighter in Texas!) and “The New Fast Food: The Veggie Queen Pressure Cooks Whole Food Meals in Less Than 30 Minutes” (for using my Instant Pot).  Stay tuned for recipe suggestions and reviews!

*****

I posted this document on my Lights Cancer Action! Facebook page, but thought I should share it here also: the McDougall Diet in simplified terms. It doesn’t get any easier than a traffic light to illustrate what you should stop eating, where you need to proceed with caution, and what you can eat with abandon!

*****

 IMDb: Stuck on You (2003)

9 thoughts on “Stuck On You

  1. How gorgeous! I’m catching up on your blog posts, as I just got back from the beach yesterday. I’ve been really slack on doing the blog thing this summer. It just seems like there’s so much to do. Is it next week you’re coming to town?

    • Yes!! We will be in Charlotte 8/5-8/9. I was thinking of doing Asheville on Wednesday or Thursday. Do either of those dates work for you? Is one better than the other? What time works? Where can we meet? So many questions!!! 🙂
      Hope you had a great vacation!

      • I’ll be off on Weds. You’ll have to let me know where you’re staying, if you know, and we can go from there. I wish I didn’t have such a full house or you could stay with me!

        Start thinking about what kinds of things you’d like to do. We have the downtown scene with the hippies, the vegan restaurants, and the microbreweries, which is really awesome.

        Then we have the Biltmore House, which is fantastic but a little pricey. You can look it up online and see if you’d be interested.

        I’ll try to think of some other things. Let me know if there’s anything you’re particularly interested in.

        I’m really looking forward to meeting you:)

      • We are actually staying with friends in Charlotte and will just come to Asheville for the day. I was thinking about The Biltmore House but let me confirm what the boys want to do. For now, it will just be my son and husband. But our friends may join us as well. They haven’t lived in NC very long and haven’t been to Asheville either.
        Likewise, I so excited to meet you!! Im glad you are off. We don’t want to monopolize your whole day but certainly you are welcome to join us as much, or as little) as you wish!!! Can’t wait!

      • I checked the Biltmore site. Kids under 16 are free right now, I think. I have a friend who is checking to see if she has any complimentary tickets. She works at Biltmore estate.I’ll let you know as you think about what you want to do.

  2. Oh, I so want to get focused and consistently plan healthy menus. I have failed miserably in this area. I have numerous healthy eating cookbooks, but, I continue to prepare the same bland healthy dishes day-in and day-out. I even have one of those spiraling gadgets, which I purchased six months ago and have never used. Writing this comment, acknowledging the problem, I hope will empower me to correct this problem. Thank you for sharing.

    • Hi Yvonne – All you have to do is take the first step! One dish at a time, a healthier, non-bland choice. 🙂 Get out your spiraling thingy and make some zucchini or carrot noodles. Toss with a little lemon juice and some salt, and you’re all set! There are so many resources on line with great recipes. It can get overwhelming, but pick one site (Forks Over Knives, Dr. McDougall…) and give it a shot! I know you can do it!
      Be well, my sistah!

Leave a Reply

