The Lab

This morning I was back to the lab (again) for a few more blood tests related to my recent ER visit for kidney pain.  Three tests: uric acid, calcium, and PTH (parathyroid hormone). Additionally, I picked up my container for a 24-hour urine collection. Oh, yay. I guess I’ll do that part on Sunday and return it to the lab on Monday. Yes, you need to pee directly into the container. I did this once before, many years ago, and I suffered from “shy bladder” since I was so worried about missing the container! Really looking forward to that, but I’m hoping all is clear on the test. If it isn’t, my urologist will be recommending that I take Allopurinol. My goal is to not end up taking any prescription meds.

I don’t go back to the urologist until the end of August, since the 24-hour collection takes 4-5 weeks to get results. I’ve been drinking a lot more water since my ER trip and am hoping that helps. (I know. Duh! I’m trying here!!)

*****

For my birthday, I had asked for an Instant Pot. I had never heard of such a thing before joining the Facebook group “Plant Based Junkies” but people in that group swear by it. It is a “7-in-1 Multi-Functional Cooker: Pressure Cooker, Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Saute/Browning, Yogurt Maker, Steamer & Warmer”. I can’t wait to try and will let you all know how it goes. (Note: there is a 6-in-1 version as well, but my hubby got me the better one, of course!) 🙂  Thanks, honey!

*****

I tried a new recipe tonight: Spicy White Bean Pitas, from Dr McDougall’s Quick & Easy Cookbook. They were pretty good, although a bit messy! The mixture that goes into the pita was a little wet and dripped through the pita. And I had trouble finding the alfalfa sprouts in the grocery store (which I now think should be optional). But other than that, the recipe was pretty good if you like spicy!

*****

IMDb: The Lab (2011)

2 thoughts on “The Lab

Leave a Reply

