The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle

Yesterday was filled with a few adventures. The first adventure was our first attempt to complete a 10-mile ride on our mountain bikes, and we did it. By “we”, I mean my husband and me, since Ethan was away for the weekend. I never thought I would make it, but I pushed through, and after a few breaks en route, we successfully completed the challenge. It felt great.

The only problems with 10 miles is the pressure on my a$$ for that length of time in a bike seat, but also the pressure on my arms/shoulders. The position, combined with 85+ degree temperatures, was probably not the most helpful to my lymphodema. I tried to ride for a while with one or the other arm up in the air, but it wasn’t necessarily the easiest thing to do. By the time we were done, I had numbness in the fingers of my right hand, but that went away after an hour or so. I’m not sure if that’s something that will get better or worse as we continue to build our endurance, so I’ll have to watch. It’s probably a good idea for me to get back to some lymphatic massage in the meantime.

*****

 The second adventure was not quite as thrilling. I was awakened about 1:30 a.m. by intense, burning, sharp pain in my right side. My first thought was appendicitis, since it seemed to be lower right abdomen. But as I got up, it moved to right flank and back, so, of course, my mind moved to my kidney. Stones, perhaps? I tried to wait it out, but the pain was worse than childbirth, really concentrated in that one area. Eventually I woke my husband up and he took me to the ER.

By the time I got there, my pain was a 9-10 on a 10 point scale, down from 11-12.  🙂 And then we waited about an hour and a half in the waiting room. (Clearly I wasn’t dying, but gosh, that’s a long wait.) By the time they actually took me into a room, I felt much better. Given my history, however, it was definitely something to check out. I have a pretty high pain threshold, so this worried me a bit.

They hooked me up to an IV (requiring two attempts, which didn’t make me happy). IVs hurt and the nurse tried an usual spot for me on the inside of my forearm. It hurt like hell and it didn’t work, so it was back to the usual spot in the crook of my arm. They drew a bunch of labs, had me pee in a cup, and sent me for a CT scan to see if it was, indeed, kidney stones.

Fortunately, everything came back perfect. The only thing the doctor could think of was a) I had a small stone and passed it in the time that I waited, or b) it’s from the 10 mile bike ride somehow. I’m not inclined to think the biking had anything to do with it. We’ve been biking all season and working our way up to this distance. And I can certainly tell muscular pain from organ pain. My theory is the kidney stone, but who knows? I have an appointment with my urologist scheduled for tomorrow, so that’s convenient. I’ll have a chat with him on the whole thing.

So, after arriving at the ER at 2:00 a.m., we got home about 7:00 a.m. and went back to bed. Some adventure!

*****

IMDb: The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle (2000)

6 thoughts on “The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle

  1. I’m saying prayers that it’s muscle aches from the bike ride, but boy, that sounded a lot more intense that a muscle. Hope you don’t go through that again!

  2. I’m voting for adventure A in the future:) I’m sure B is just one of those weird, unexplained things. Let’s hope it doesn’t happen again. Way to go on the ride!

  3. Wow, what a night and a night you had no kids! LOL Sorry to hear you ended up in the er, but so glad it came out okay. I’m voting on the kidney stone. I’ve had them and they are right where you described and hurt like hell. Be happy that it passed that quickly and didn’t take days to come down and out. I hope you aren’t bothered again and glad you had it checked out.

    Congrats on the bike ride. That’s an awesome ride!!

Leave a Reply

