The Summit

I finished reading my autographed copy of “The Food Prescription for Better Health” by Baxter D. Montgomery MD.  Well, I probably shouldn’t say “finished”, as I actually didn’t read the whole book. I read the first several chapters, which was a reinforcement of what I already know about whole food plant-based diets. Additionally, some of the story was actually what he presented on at the conference I attended in February. The second half of his book talks about the diet he prescribes for his patients and, at first glance, it seemed complicated to me. I didn’t think I needed more complex, and I’m happy following the McDougall diet, so there didn’t seem to be any point to finishing it. Maybe some day…

Up next? “Meatonomic$” by David Robinson Simon (who also spoke at the McDougall conference in February).

*****

I finally broke down and started taking the prescribed steroids (Medrol pack) and antibiotic (Z pack). The sinus (?) pain is just becoming such a nuisance and nothing else is working. I’m not thrilled about it, but felt I needed to try something else. Is it a coincidence, however, that tonight I am very achy? My joints, lower back and legs are especially achy. I thought steroids made you feel better, not worse. Of course, it could be the antibiotic or something totally unrelated, too. Thankfully both are only for five days, so we shall see how this all plays out. I suspect it will do nothing and I will be off to the ENT next. *sigh*

*****

My husband and I, along with two friends, spent this past weekend in western Massachusetts. We stayed at a bed & breakfast, hiked (a very small portion of) Mount Greylock, and enjoyed good food, beautiful views, and relaxation. Here are two photos from the summit on Mount Greylock.

Mt Greylock 1

 

How about that sunset???? Love the cloud pattern!
Mt Greylock

 

*****

IMDb: The Summit (2010)

4 thoughts on “The Summit

  1. Gorgeous sunset and picture of you. Glad you had some time to get away and do some things away from home.
    As far as the meds for your sinuses, sometimes you just gotta do it. I understand your feelings. I dislike very much taking anything for anything. LOL I’ve recently tried to wean myself off of some herbal meds I”ve been taking for hot flashes and not sleeping. It got to the point where it was not enough and I spent half of my day feeling awful from either not sleeping well or being cranky. That is no way to live. So, a couple of nights ago, I upped my dose again and feeling better.
    I hope you feel better soon with the meds.

    • I take several herbal hormones. I don’t put them in the same category as medications. I think that hormone balance is to important for optimal health. Steroids and antibiotics,on the other hand, I try to avoid. 😉

      • The part that scares me about the herbal is that the fact that you can buy them over the counter and sometimes they aren’t governed as much as they should be. That being said, there are many prescription that scare me as well. On the whole, I dislike meds all together and honestly can’t even guess the number of years it has been since I’ve had an antibiotic. The recent weaning off of my herbal hormones were because they took them off the market. I later found out it was because there were parabens in them. I’ve read every article I can get my hands on about them and find such conflicting reports.
        So, I guess the best we can do is trust our bodies and minds and take what helps us if and when we need it most, hoping we are feeding out bodies the best we can and it will all come out in the wash. Quality of life is very important.

      • I purchase all of my supplements from Natures Sunshine. They do a lot of quality testing and I believe their products to be the best out there. They are a little more expensive but worth it. My naturalist always advises against buying just any supplements. She said look to see if the manufacturer and distributor are third parties. That’s when you lose control over the quality.

Leave a Reply

