Perfect Poison

I mentioned yesterday that pesticides showed up in the Zyto scan done by my naturalist.  I’m not terribly surprised when pesticides show up, since I do eat a lot of fruits and vegetables, and I don’t buy 100% organic all the time.  But I was surprised to see at the top of my list of pesticides the word “warfarin”.

For those of you who don’t know, Warfarin is an anti-coagulant also known as Coumadin.  So I was really confused to see this on a list of pesticides.  What I have learned is that Warfarin was originally introduced in 1948 as rat poison!!!!  Yes, that’s rat poison.  Please note that this is the “drug” that contributed to my mother’s death, so it was completely shocking to me to learn that it was a pesticide.  A poison.  Apparently, the rats bled to death and then they found they could use it as a prescription medication. The whole idea just sickens me.  We are, quite literally, poisoning our population one drug at time.

My naturalist, Aimee, and I spent a lot of time discussing possible ways in which I might have encounter the Warfarin and didn’t come up with anything that made sense.  It is possible to have encountered it just about anywhere — any public building that may have had recent pest control spraying, as an example.  I had also been doing a lot of heavy duty cleaning in my garage and basement, although I don’t ever remember using poison in either place.  Based on some of the other things that came up in my scan, it’s quite possible it was something I breathed in.  I will detox from the list of pesticides by taking Heavy Metal Detox and Lymphomax (both by Natures Sunshine).

*****

And there was something else I was going to write about… what was it…?  Oh yes, memory.

Aimee gave me an article to read on memory and brain function. The first thing in the article talks about how the brain is 70% water and is, therefore, sensitive to dehydration. Oops.  I know I don’t drink enough water, so here’s one more reason to try to do more.

The second thing we discussed was getting enough essential fatty acids.  There are a slew of options to get healthy fats (fish oil, for example), and the article indicates that vegetarians are often low.  The recommendations for me are:  Super GLA (containing evening primrose, black currant and borage oils) and also coconut oil.  I am now adding 1 tablespoon of coconut oil to my morning green smoothie.  It doesn’t quite blend perfectly, and I end up with some chunks of coconut oil in the bottom, but it’s a pretty easy way to get it in.

In addition to the above, I also take phosphatidylserine, recommended to me by a fellow blogger a few months ago, which is good for memory.  Aimee indicated it would be a good one for me to continue taking. Since PS is often made from soybeans, I looked for a soybean-free version (mostly because of the estrogen qualities of soy).  This is the one I use: Natural Factors PS.

The article indicates that heavy metals impact brain functioning, so I’m hoping the detox of the pesticides helps me as well.

 *****

IMDb: Perfect Poison (2004)

5 thoughts on “Perfect Poison

  1. I am in the process of detoxing mercury from my system… First having all the very old amalgam fillings removed …. Then taking supplements to remove mercury from the rest of the body… Heavy going detox some days but already feeling improvements…

    • I had high levels of mercury several years ago, from having a cracked filling replaced. It caused wicked hives all over my body for months, and the doctors only wanted to put me on medication to make the symptoms go away. But I wanted root cause, so that’s when I started going to my naturalist. She identified the culprit, recommend the right supplements to detox, and I haven’t had a hive since. I do still have amalgam fillings but hate going to the dentist, so they are still in my mouth! Good for you for taking all these steps to detox from that!

      • Yes finding the root cause is so important… Neurologist wanted to give me steroids and immunosupressent drugs for my symptoms!!! I declined and found myself a Functional Medicine Doctor… Now i feel much happier with my treatment!!

  2. Interesting. When I had my hair analysis done a couple months ago, I came up super high in Titanium. I found out that this is most likely from the dental implant I have. And, in another article I read, the tooth it’s in is directly on the breast meridian in Chinese medicine. Go figure! The doctor said titanium is probably harmless, but I’m not sure about that. I may have it removed.

    Ground flax seed and ground hemp seeds are really great sources for Omega 3s. I have a small, inexpensive coffee grinder that I use to grind up a tablespoon of each and put it in my smoothies. The hemp also has a decent amount of protein. And it has a pleasant kind of nutty flavor.

Leave a Reply

