They All Laughed

The end of this month I will be celebrating my 30th college reunion. As part of Alumni Weekend, I have been helping to coordinate a reunion of music grads from all graduating years. It’s been great fun reconnecting with everyone and I can’t wait to see former classmates and professors, as well as dear friends I have kept in touch with over the years.

As part of the reunion weekend, there will be a Mass and a few of us flutists are “getting the band back together”, as in a flute ensemble.  Yesterday I met up with two fellow music grads to rehearse some of the music and it was hard to believe 30 years had passed.  It was like those 30 years had passed in the blink of an eye.  We picked right up where we left off in both conversation, camaraderie, and musicianship. Granted, we may not be quite as good as we once were (after all, we aren’t practicing for hours a day), but after 30 years, we sounded pretty damn good!

After a nice rehearsal, my friend Cheryl and I enjoyed breakfast, a long talk, some tears and lots of laughs.  You know the kind of laughs I mean…the silly, giggling, uncontrollable laugh til you cry kind of laugh.  The kind where you would snort milk out your nose (assuming we still drank milk). The kind where your shoulders just shake uncontrollably and people start to stare, as you just relive all those great times you shared together.

The reunion is in two weeks and I know it’s just going to be a whole day of that! They say laughter is the best medicine and I’m looking for some large doses!

laughter

Cheryl, my friend, thank you, as ever, for your caring, your friendship, your wit and sarcasm, and for making me laugh!

*****

IMDb: They All Laughed (1981)

3 thoughts on “They All Laughed

Leave a Reply

