Eyes Wide Shut

I have been long overdue for an eye exam, having put it off during chemo and then procrastinated in getting it on the calendar. So today was finally the day. I knew my vision had worsened and I, of course, blame my cancer treatment for part of it.

Is there really a correlation? I have no idea. But my floaters have been worse since treatment and I really try to avoid driving (much to my husband’s dismay), especially at night, because I haven’t been seeing as well as I once did. It’s been 14 years since I had my LASIK procedure, and at the age of 51, I guess I can’t complain too much.

So after my exam, which included dilation and putting the 50,000 watt lights in my eyes, I learned that my vision isn’t as bad as I thought.  Both my distance and near vision have declined, and I have some cataracts forming. I’m a little young for that and his recommendations were to wear my sunglasses more often (admittedly I’m bad about that) and to take vitamin C.

He also suggested a pair of cheaters for when I need help up close, and he gave me a prescription for a pair for when distance is a problem (driving, movies, etc.). I don’t need either all the time, but it will require toting two pair of glasses around. This is better than the option proposed by the student who first examined me: bifocals! The doctor didn’t think I was ready for that, thankfully.

Which brings me to my gripe for the night… the students. I totally understand they need to learn, but I just don’t think it needs to be at my expense every time I go. I am SO light sensitive and I find it extremely painful to have those mega watt lights shone into my eyes. Once is bad enough, but twice?? Usually I just submit to both, and then I get mad at myself for not speaking up. Today was different though! I was cranky after being there for 2 hours and I said “no”. I didn’t want my dilated eyeballs subjected twice. (It actually felt pretty good that they actually honored my request!)

 

When I got home, I had to do some Googling on cancer treatment and eye problems. Where I was blaming chemo, it was interesting to read that cataracts can form from steroids and radiation.  Eye problems and cancer

bright light

*****

It’s been another night of baking for me.  Tomorrow is a “bake off” at work, so I did a lemon pie (I’m an expert now) and the wonderful vegan peanut butter chocolate chip cookies (recipe has been featured in this blog numerous times).  I also made the zesty quinoa salad again for another work party.

One of the things that I learned recently on Facebook that helped me with my lemon pies is the secret to successfully and easily separating the egg yolks from the whites.  Check this out:  Eggs

And while we’re on tips, here’s another for slicing tomatoes.  Where have these tricks been my whole life?  🙂  Tomatoes

*****

IMDb Eyes Wide Shut (1999)

One thought on “Eyes Wide Shut

  1. I felt like my vision got worse after treatment too, but when I got it checked it was only a slight difference for far vision. My near vision is pretty bad now.

Leave a Reply

