The Bake Shop Ghost

Who knew baking was such an emotional activity?

Today was a planned day off — primarily for grocery shopping and baking cookies for Easter. I have learned that baking, at least for me, is not a solitary activity. I am used to chatting with my mom, discussing everything imaginable while we baked, including baking stuff.  Is the dough too sticky / wet / too dry?  Should we add a little more of… something…?  Do they look like they need a few more minutes in the oven?  We were also a tag team on the rolling out of cookies and getting them in and out of the oven.  We worked side-by-side, each picking up where the other left off — seamlessly.  Being a solo act was tough, and my early morning baking was not without tears.  Eventually I got myself together and made some good progress.

First: Two batches of peanut butter blossoms.  These I have made a hundred times but today they came out a a little flat for some reason (old baking soda?).  They otherwise looked good and tasted great.

photo_2[1]

Next up: Two batches of sugar cookies…this is first for me, at least in terms of the dough. These came out great and the best compliment of all?  When the kids (my son and niece) came in after school and said “oh!  the house smells like Grandma’s!!”.  The cookies passed their muster, so I was pretty happy about that.

Lastly (at least for cookies): One batch of shortbreads.  These are my sister-in-law’s favorite and, since she took on the pierogies, I thought it was the least I could do.  Those came out great also, with only one casualty:  a tray of cookies that got too brown because I was multi-tasking and missed the timer.

Then it was on to decorating the sugar cookies.  The kids helped for a while, but they eventually got tired and quit. Thankfully, my aunt came to visit and she helped me finish the decorating.  I also got to enjoy looking through lots of old pictures with my aunt (she was able to identify a lot of people I didn’t know), and we shared a few more tears.  It felt good to talk about Mom, walk down memory lane, and spend some quality time with my aunt.

When all was said and done, the sugar cookies looked beautiful and I know my mom is smiling down on us.  She would be so proud!

photo_3[1]

After clean up, I baked my first lemon pie.  Feeling pretty accomplished today!

photo (35)

Oh, and in case you are wondering, there isn’t anything healthy about any of the above!  (But, hey, it’s the holidays!)  🙂

 *****

IMDb The Bake Shop Ghost (2009)

2 thoughts on “The Bake Shop Ghost

  1. Wishing you a very Happy Easter… I know there will be some sadness for you but your mum will be looking down while you have those beautiful cookies ❤️

Leave a Reply

