The Okra Principle

I tried a new vegetable yesterday:  okra.  Not that I have never eaten okra before… but I have never used it fresh.  I have made gumbo in the past but used canned okra.  So when I saw the “Okra Gumbo with Chickpeas and Kidney Beans” in Isa’s cookbook, I went looking for the fresh okra.  I was surprised to find it at Wegman’s.  Who knew?  It’s amazing what you can find when you are actually looking.

I wasn’t entirely sure what to do with it when I got it home and Google’d “how to clean okra” just be sure.  I found a lovely video that showed me how to trim the stems off without cutting the pods (?) and clean them.  There were instructions for cleaning the fuzz off the outside for “older” okra, but mine were apparently young and fuzzless.

In the end, the gumbo, served over rice, was delicious and there wasn’t a drop left.  Even Ethan ate two servings!  I was able to find the recipe online:
http://www.theppk.com/2011/09/okra-gumbo-with-chickpeas-kidney-beans/

okra

*****

Tonight, it was something quick… In fact, the dish is called “Quick Black Bean Chili”.  Just a few ingredients thrown together in a pot, cooked, and also served over rice.  (Yes, lots of rice!  I’m reading “The Starch Solution”, remember?)  Super easy and everyone enjoys it.  http://whfoods.org/genpage.php?tname=recipe&dbid=285

*****

The Okra Principle (2009) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1629408/

Leave a Reply

