A Sprig of Shamrock

Two new recipes tonight.  The first is from “Isa Does It”… Tamale Shepherd’s Pie.  It’s a Southwestern take on the traditional Shepherd’s Pie, complete with a layer of mashed potatoes. These potatoes have a hint of lime to them.  I thought the dish was tasty, especially the hint of lime, although David thought the potatoes were a little dry.  It may be because I eliminated the 2 tablespoons of oil from the potatoes.  And I also didn’t saute’ my onions and pepper in oil… I used veggie broth for that.  The recipe made quite a bit and we’ll have leftovers for lunch!

I was able to find this recipe on-line:  http://www.theppk.com/2012/03/tamale-shepherds-pie/

The other recipe I borrowed from a friend’s Facebook page; it’s a healthy/vegan version of the shamrock shake.  Ethan was lamenting about how I won’t take him to McDonald’s to get a real one, so I made this for him.  I didn’t have peppermint, so I used spearmint.  It would be better with the peppermint, I think, and he gave it a so-so.  He liked it at first, but as he drank more, he became less impressed.  (I may just have to cave for ONE real shamrock shake…).  I enjoyed mine, though.  🙂
http://www.primallyinspired.com/copycat-shamrock-shake-paleo-healthy-version-vegan/

*****

I’m making good progress on “The Starch Solution”.  I just read the chapters “When Friends Ask: Where Do You Get Your Protein?” and “When Friends Ask: Where Do You Get Your Calcium?”.  The answer to both is, of course, plants.  And he goes on to explain how plant protein is better than animal protein (think elephant, cow, giraffe, hippo… all vegetarians!).

He also explains how/why the myth that you need milk/cheese for calcium perpetuates. Interestingly enough, calcium comes from the ground and the cows get it from the foods that they eat, so let’s cut out the middle man and get our calcium directly from the plants!  (Note: animal-based foods are acidic, so your bones actually give up calcium to offset the acidity of the meats/dairy… so drinking milk actually contributes to osteoporosis rather than preventing it.)

Ah, the power of advertising…

*****

A Spring of Shamrock (1915) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0794362/

2 thoughts on “A Sprig of Shamrock

Leave a Reply

