Precious Knowledge

The McDougall Advanced Study Weekend has come to a close and, as I start writing this, I am on my way back home, but stuck in Detroit with a so far thrice-delayed flight. I managed to find a Mediterranean restaurant, my best shot for rice and veggies at an airport, and am enjoying hummus and vegetarian grape leaves.

The weekend was wonderful: inspiring, informative, energizing. I have so much information to share with you all, but it will literally take me weeks. I took 44 pages of notes, from 14 different lectures that totaled 17.5 hours over 2 1/2 days.

The primary message of the event was this: a whole food, plant based diet prevents, suspends and/or cures a litany of chronic diseases. Each speaker supported this with data, science, research and real examples.

I now have 4 new books to read. I purchased “The Food Prescription” at the event so I could have the author, Dr Baxter Montgomery, autograph it. The other three have already been ordered from Amazon with two day free shipping.  “Meatonomics”, by David Simon, “The Starch Solution”, by Dr John McDougall, and “Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease”, by Dr Caldwell Esselstyn. (Yes, I promise to share what I learn!)

I got to meet my nutrition idol, T. Colin Campbell PhD, and I was able to get his autograph on my copy of “The China Study”.  He truly is a rock star in the world of nutrition and it was great to see the amount of respect, and even reverence, that this crowd paid to him.  They kept referring to the 3 “Titans”… Dr. Campbell, Dr. McDougall, and Dr. Esselstyn.  They are certainly three brilliant minds, with about 30-40 years EACH on the topic of nutrition… in particular how the lack of nutrition is responsible for the high obesity and chronic disease rates in the United States.  They are truly impressive.  Dr. Campbell, in particular, has taken a hit from his peers over the years for failing to go with the flow — for daring to suggest something beyond conventional wisdom — even though that’s what the research showed.  I give him so much credit for that, and I’m an even bigger fan now (although I did expect him to be taller!).

The conference was attended by approximately 350 people, an impressive and diverse crowd of individuals quite passionate about the subject matter. There were people at all levels of vegetarianism / veganism, and I learned a lot from each of them. I heard some fascinating life stories in the process.

The weather was spectacular: sunny with clear blue skies and 70-75 degrees. The nights were cool but still warmer than daytime temps in good ol’ northeast Pennsylvania! People were actually in the swimming pool!!

My 80 minute massage was pure heaven. Mariana, my Russian masseuse, was delightful and I even spent time in the relaxation room, bathing in sunlight.

Marian and I spent a few hours at the Charles Schulz Museum, which was a lot of fun!  My thanks to you, Marian, for agreeing to be my travel companion!!!  I had such a great time — your commitment to the vegan diet and exercise have inspired me as well!

Stay tuned for more…

Snoopy rev

*****

Precious Knowledge (2011) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1855315/

One thought on “Precious Knowledge

  1. Michele,

    I am so glad you went and had a great and relaxing time. I look so forward to you sharing tips, techniques and suggestions. I am anxious to hear what these new book finds are about! (especially the one about heart disease, but all of them!)

    Gina

Leave a Reply

