The Secret Garden

As you may remember, my husband bought me an “Aero Garden 7” for Christmas.  I assembled the kit a few weeks ago, but never got around to planting my herbs until today.  The instructions had said “no well water”, so we needed to buy some distilled water, and it took me a while to get back to it.

The Aero Garden 7 is pretty cool.  After assembling (very simple), you add water and nutrients, insert the grow pods and cover with the bio-domes, and plug it in.  It will alert me when I need to add water, when I need to add nutrients (every 2 weeks), and when I need change the light bulbs (every 6 months).  The lights turn on and off based on a schedule determined by whether you are growing herbs, veggies, salad greens, or flowers.  It was pretty easy to put together and so far seems pretty idiot proof!

My herb garden includes cilantro, two kinds of basil, dill, mint, parsley and chives.  I’ve tried to grow herbs in the past, but have only had success with basil.  I’m feeling good about chances with this.  Here’s the garden with the pods and bio-domes (very high-tech!):

photo (34)

The light is pretty bright… maybe it will help with our vitamin D during this gray winter!  🙂

*****

This weekend I tried two new recipes….

Cajun Corn Chowder from the Happy Herbivore Light and Lean cookbook.  This has definitely become my new favorite cookbook.  I have enjoyed everything I have made from it thus far.  The Corn Chowder was super easy, and since it only makes a single serving, I doubled it with no issues.  Who doesn’t love easy AND enjoyable for lunch.

The second recipe was from my Vegetarian Crock Pot cook book.  I made pasta fagioli soup.  It was pretty easy to throw together and only took a little over 3 hours in the crock pot.  David really enjoyed; Ethan dug for the pasta, beans, tomatoes, and potatoes ( which I added to make it a little more hearty), leaving the zucchini behind.  I tried a new brown rice pasta that I probably wouldn’t use again, but otherwise, it was a big success.

*****

The Secret Garden (1993) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108071/

4 thoughts on “The Secret Garden

  1. I have always wondered if the Aero Garden was worth trying and now feel confident about its properties. Thanks for your input!

Leave a Reply

