Only When I Laugh

I survived the first five-day work week in what seems like forever.  The week flew by, although the day dragged.  Something must have gone awry with the time-space continuum or something, because that makes no sense.  While it was a good week at work, I was happy when the day finally ended.  On to a three day weekend!

After work, I spent some time with my favorite aunt, as my uncle passed away on Wednesday. I have not spent as much time with her these past few years and I am sorry to have to see her under such circumstances, but we did get to spend some quiet time alone, remembering.  I was also honored to help her select music for the memorial Mass on Monday.

From somber to hysterical, after that it was game night with my family.  I’m not sure why, but it just seems to get funnier every time.  We made a resolution to do this once a month, and so far, we are one for one!  We laughed until we cried, with so much of the hysteria centered around the boys… my son, my brother, and my husband!  For the record, it was Pictionary and Hedbanz tonight.  (Hedbanz was a new addition after Christmas… if you haven’t played it, I highly recommend it for some great laughs!)

It feels so good to feel so good!  I’m so happy to be able to enjoy this family time with energy and joy.  I know I’ve said it before, but what a difference a year makes.  The experiences of the past year or so have really made me appreciate the family time, as well as the laughs, more and more.  I was also glad to spend some time with my niece before she heads back to college.

*****

At work today, we had our first “healthy team” meeting of the year and I set my goals as follows:  1) Continue to evolve in my whole food, plant based diet by expanding my repertoire of foods and recipes.  2)  Lose that “last 10” pounds (those pounds seem particularly attached to me and just won’t go away).  3)  Get more active (for now, by increasing my FitBit steps week over week, and come Spring, back to mountain bikes).  Our team has really had some awesome health results in 2013 and the support of the whole team makes it all so much easier.  By sharing our goals with each other, it keeps us all honest and on track.

*****

Only When I Laugh (1981) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082853/

One thought on “Only When I Laugh

  1. Pingback: Slip Sliding Away… | Happy Feat

Leave a Reply

