Food Fight

Yesteray I met one of my girlfriends for a much belated birthday (and only slightly belated Christmas) lunch.  We went to one of my favorite restaurants for lunch, State Street Grille.  I was surprised to see they had revamped the menu, since I already had in my mind what I was going to order when I got there.  But I was even more surprised at some of the things on the new menu:  including a separate drink menu for raw food juices!  I was so excited about this since I have never seen that anywhere in our area.  I ordered a carrot, apple, ginger & kale juice which was absolutely delicious (and healthy).  I was also impressed that they had Stevia in the holder for the sugar packets.

*****

My mother gave me her January 2014 Reader’s Digest to read an article on education.  In the magazine, however, I found this great article on what different words mean on food labels.  The article covers what it really means to be imitation, (fat-, sugar-, or sodium-) free, low, reduced, light, high, good source, more, lean, healthy and natural. They may not mean what you think!
http://www.rd.com/slideshows/food-labels-decode-tricky-terms

*****

Here’s another great article.  It was re-posted on a blog that I follow, and it talks about the best foods to eat for fighting cancer, as specific properties in the foods target cancer stem cells.
http://eatandbeatcancer.wordpress.com/2014/01/11/anti-cancer-diet-which-foods-target-cancer-stem-cells/

*****

And lastly, regardless of what position you support in this GMO fight, I still think it’s important to have labeling.  If you support GMOs, then the labeling won’t matter.  And if you don’t support GMOs, then you can make a conscious decision to avoid them.  I just think it’s a basic right to know what you are eating.  So for those of you in the latter category, here are some new apps for you to check out to help eat GMO free.  I started to look into these, but haven’t really tried any of them yet.  Let me know if you try any of these.

10 Apps to help you eat GMO free http://www.foodrevolution.org/blog/non-gmo-apps

*****

Food Fight (2008) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1193092/

Leave a Reply

