A Good Year

One year ago today was my final chemo treatment… Wow, did that year fly by, or what?  I am so grateful to be alive and well!  They say time flies when you’re having fun, and now that I’m having fun again, and trying to live my second (third?) chance to its fullest, maybe that’s why.

I thought I’d share the link to last year’s last chemo blog:

https://lightscanceraction.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/last-tango-in-paris/

One year ago today is also the day I adopted my whole food, plant based diet.  It took me a while to get totally up and running, since I was so sick after chemo #6, but it’s when I officially gave up all beef, poultry, and pork.  I do still eat fish about once a week, but that’s it for “meat”.

Here’s a recent article, but it was really the linkage of animal protein to cancer (from T. Colin Campbell’s book, The China Study) that led me to this decision.

http://www.forksoverknives.com/1907-new-york-times-article-shows-that-meat-causes-cancer/

I have to say that I have not regretted it for a moment.  I understand this decision isn’t for everyone, but for me, it was definitely the right move.  I lost weight without counting calories or fat or points.  My skin glowed and my hair shined.  My cholesterol and triglycerides plummeted.  And I felt better than I had in ages.  It is SO worth the effort!

What a difference a year makes!

*****

A Good Year (2006) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0401445/

2 thoughts on “A Good Year

Leave a Reply

