Begin

Now that the holidays are over, it’s time to get serious again about cooking!  While I’ve behaved fairly well the past few weeks, there have been a lot of fast meals and a few too many Christmas cookies.  I received Happy Herbivore’s newest cookbook “Light & Lean” for Christmas (another great gift selection by my hubby) and I have to say, I’m loving the recipes.

So far, I’ve made Irish stew, garden chili and corn bread.  All are vegan dishes, easy to make (unless you count chopping veggies), and absolutely delicious!  I can’t wait to try other recipes and definitely recommend the book.  There are some work out plans in the book, too, but those will wait for another day.

I’ve made great use of my new cast iron Dutch oven with the stew and chili.  I just have to figure out how to make room for all this new stuff in my kitchen….  Time for some serious purging and reorganizing during January!

*****

In terms of New Year’s resolutions, it’s really more of the same from 2013… clean eating of a whole, plant-based foods.  Move more.  And continue to look for ways to improve and maintain my health.  Ultimately, it’s all about trying to remain cancer-free.

Other than that, it’s just the usual stuff… Yes, I’d love to lose 10 more pounds.  I want to declutter, organize (see kitchen c omments above!), and contribute as best I can to world peace. I vow to spend more quality time with my family, make an effort to see my friends more, and deepen my faith.

I try not to put too much pressure on myself.  I will succeed sometimes, and other times I will not.  But that is life and we certainly must all give ourselves a break.  After all, stress can take its toll on our health.  I try to do the best I can each day, and look at each new day as a new beginning.

*****

Begin (short) (1998) http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0164390/

Leave a Reply

