New Year’s Eve

Is it me, or did 2013 fly by?  It’s been quite a year.

2013 saw the end of chemotherapy in January, radiation in February and March, and the start of Femara in April.  I got my portacath out in May and that signaled the officially end of treatment for me.  I debated the benefits and risks of the Femara for months on end, and came to what, at least for me, was the right decision.  In October, I officially stopped.  Since then I have felt remarkably better.

I started my plants-based journey in January and developed a great repertoire of recipes.  It got easier and easier to do as the year went on, and even David and Ethan are (relatively) on board.  (It’s not like they have a lot of choice!)  I experienced measurable improvements in my health as a result, including a 13-pound weight loss, and reductions in triglyceride and cholesterol numbers.  I look forward to shedding the last 10 pounds in 2014.

We got Dad through radiation for cancer, and we started on the road to wellness for my Mom in 2014.

During 2013, we enjoyed trips to Newport, Rhode Island, Niagara Falls, and the Finger Lakes in New York.  I got back involved in music after joining Crystal Band with Ethan, and we enjoyed lots of laughs with family.

Through the Ladies in Pink Party and this blog I had the distinct pleasure of sharing my story — my challenges and successes — with all of you.  As I have said before, this blog has taken on a life of its own, becoming much more than I ever anticipated.  Here are some fun facts from my WordPress annual report:

  • The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 17,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 6 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.
  • In 2013, there were 211 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 322 posts.
  • Viewership came from 57 countries!  Most visitors came from The United States. Singapore & Canada were not far behind.
  • Those who commented the most frequently on WordPress are:  my blogger friends Helen (http://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/) and Dr Lisa Marie (http://drlisamallen.wordpress.com/), and Gina H.  Thank you!!  And for those who comment on FaceBook, thanks to you as well.  Your encouragement and the ongoing dialogue are what keep me going!

I thank you all for your continued readership and walking with me on life’s journey!

Here’s to love, happiness, prosperity, and, most importantly, health for us all in 2014!

*****

New Year’s Eve (2011) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1598822/

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve

Leave a Reply

