Pluto’s Christmas Tree

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas!  Ours was great — lots of fun time with family, celebrating at home and at church.  Christmas Eve has always been my favorite celebration, with traditional foods, including fish, shrimp and homemade pierogies, for as long as I can remember.

I have such special memories of childhood Christmases, especially when I was very young.  I used to love going with my Dad and brothers to search for the perfect tree.  I remember tromping through the snow to find the right one and, invariably, they looked smaller in the woods!  We would spend time trimming the bottom and branches to get the tree to fit in the house.

In our home, Santa always decorated the tree when he delivered presents, and there was nothing more exciting than waiting for Mom and Dad to go downstairs to plug the tree in on Christmas morning.  We would wait with anticipation on the stairs and we would be excited to see both the tree and the presents.

Sometimes I feel like I gypped Ethan by not doing the same for him, but honestly, can you even imagine decorating the tree after the kids have gone to bed on Christmas Eve???  And often, this would occur after they went to midnight mass!  I think I appreciate it all the more in my adulthood, knowing what my parents did to make it so magical.

beautiful-christmas-tree

*****

There were many great gifts under the tree on Christmas morning this year.  My hubby outdid himself in picking some great presents to support my health and wellness.  The top three:  An AeroGarden to grow my own fresh herbs, a set of cast iron pots and pans (to match the mega-skillet), and an Exerpeutic ACTIVcycle.

The latter is a cycle for both upper body and legs.  You can pedal it under your desk (or sitting anywhere), or with your arms on the tabletop.  He thought it would help with my lympedema, especially since I used to talk about the arm bike while I was going through physical therapy.  I didn’t even know they made such things, and I really appreciate the research he did.

One of his gifts? a Keurig.  I could never see the value in having one previously, considering how much coffee he drank in a day.  It was definitely cost prohibitive.  But now that he only drinks 1-2 cups a day, it made perfect sense to finally get one.  (And they sure do make a great cup of coffee!)

I hope Santa was good to all of you!

*****

Pluto’s Christmas Tree (1952) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0045037/

Leave a Reply

