The Polar Express

The Polar Express is in full gear these days.  Chugging down the track headed straight for Christmas.

It’s been a really busy week here (you, too?).  Christmas concerts, work, travel, shopping, cards, and holiday celebrations with friends.  There doesn’t seem to be a minute of spare time, and I haven’t had a time in a week to write my blog.  Interestingly enough, the only reason I have time to write tonight is because our second Christmas concert got postponed due to bad weather.  I guess the Polar Express brought some ice and snow along with it!

*****

Yesterday we went with some friends to the town of Jim Thorpe for a day of holiday festivities.  We did some browsing through the many little shops, attended a beautiful choral concert, and a wonderful dinner.  The town was all decked out for the holidays and we even got to see Santa.  I thought the chorale concert was wonderful… the setting of the beautiful church, along with the Christmas music, really put me in the holiday spirit.  The music even brought tears to my eyes at times.  Adeste Fidelis, For Unto Us a Child is Born, and Hallelujah Chorus.  Ah.  Despite the craziness of the week overall, yesterday was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable days we’ve had in a long time.

Here I am with my friend, Melissa.  Yes, my nose is red… it was about 17 degrees!

Jim Thorpe 2013.12.08

*****

This weekend our church was accepting “gently used” toys on behalf of less fortunate families.  I welcomed the opportunity to clean out Ethan’s room and came up with five bags of toys.  All of the toys were in great shape… a lot of things that he outgrew but we just never got to a yard sale or flea market.  What was a little sad was that some of these toys were brand new… never even opened.  I am grateful for the blessings and abundance in our lives, but it certainly felt kind of decadent.  So I was certainly thrilled to know that they were going to a good cause, and it felt good to unload so much stuff!

*****

So the downfall of a busy schedule is definitely the impact to my diet.  Traveling means eating out — breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Celebrating means eating… and drinking.  This past week has added 3 pounds to the scale.  Bagels.  Pizza.  Coffee.  Jack Frost martinis and Pinot Grigio.  Dessert.  And not nearly enough vegetables or juicing.  ‘Tis the season, I guess, and I wasn’t terrible, but I need to do better.

Today I was happy to have the opportunity to juice for the first time in over a week.  Made a big batch for the whole family!  And with no travels this week, I am looking forward to getting back on track.  We made our trip to Wegman’s this morning to load up on fruits and veggies and there is a game plan for the week, despite another busy week ahead.

*****

I’m loving the holiday season, and am so excited to be feeling well and energetic this Christmas.  A year ago I was in the throes of chemotherapy.  What a difference a year makes.  I’m happy to be riding this train, busy schedule and all!

*****

The Polar Express (2004) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0338348/

Leave a Reply

