Three Days

Alas, the three day weekend is coming to a close.  The whole weekend went much too quickly (don’t they always?) and I didn’t get nearly as much done today as I had hoped.

My extra day started with physical therapy.  It’s been a whole week since I’ve been there, and my body was feeling the effects of several days of sitting.  I’m amazed at how quickly all my muscles tightened up again.  So today’s session was painful, but a good sort of hurt.

After PT, I was off to one of the local hospitals for an EKG.  I am scheduled for a routine colonoscopy next week and the EKG was part of my prep work.  (The easy part!)  The tech who did my EKG was asking why I was having it done and was asking some general health questions.  When I mentioned the breast cancer, she asked me how many years it had been.  I replied “one”, and she was surprised.  She kept going on and on about how great I looked.  I was appreciative of the compliment but I always feel weird about that.  Am I supposed to look really bad, and they are surprised that I don’t look like crap?  Considering my lack of reconstruction, I always wonder if they are just being nice.  I try not to dwell on it too much, but it does take me aback a bit when people say that.  She did seem sincere, so I just said thank you.

After that, I met David and Ethan at the Steamtown National Historic Site.  As Veterans Day brings with it free admission, David was all over that!  🙂  We had a nice walk around the park looking at the trains.  I learn something new every time I go.

Here’s a fun panoramic photo that David took.  Ethan and I had to keep running around behind David to run back into the shot as he panned the round house at the center of the park.  (And, yes, I know… my 12 year old is taller than me!)

steamtown 11.11.2013

I spent the rest of the day in the kitchen.  I made the Moroccan Red Lentil Soup for Wednesday night, and Sloppy Lentil Joes for Thursday night.  I also made fish tacos for dinner tonight, and prepped some lunch stuff for the week.  It all took so much longer than I expected, so I didn’t get much else done, except for some laundry.  I’m off to band practice tonight and (poof!) the three day weekend is over.

*****

Three Days (2001) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0301935/

Leave a Reply

