Vision Quest

I hate to admit it, but I’m finally getting to the point where I need to use my “cheaters” for reading most things any more.  Granted, I’m 51 and this is not a big surprise, but I had been doing so well for so long.  I used to only need them in poor lighting, or some poor packing with yellow font on red background (or something equally difficult to read).

But this weekend it really hit me.  Recipes.  Newspaper.  iPhone.  It didn’t matter what I was trying to read — I struggled. Of course, I can’t help but wonder how much chemo may have contributed to my declining vision.  (I certainly blame it for my declining memory.)  Maybe it really is just the aging process, but since I’m blaming chemo for so many other things, why not give it credit for this also.

I probably should call and get an appointment with the eye doctor.  I cancelled the last one since it was during treatment.  First, I didn’t need one more appointment to fit into my schedule.  And second, I wondered if chemo could have an impact.   More than likely I need an actual prescription, rather than the Sam’s Club special, since Lasik corrected one eye for distance and the other close.  Plus, the cheaters that I have are a little too wide for my head and don’t stay securely on!  I guess I should get that on the schedule.

*****

Another busy week ahead:  Physical therapy.  Back to the orthodontist after school with Ethan.  Band practice.  And off to lovely downtown Newark NJ for 2 1/2 days.  Hey, the weekend will be here before I know it!

*****

And can I just say, this whole time change thing…  Can we just do away with it already?  It doesn’t matter if I spring ahead or fall back, it totally messes up my sleep patterns.

*****

Vision Quest (1985) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0090270/

One thought on “Vision Quest

Leave a Reply

