Weekend

It’s been a nice, quiet weekend — and there’s still one more day to go!  Yes, I took Columbus Day off.  Woo hoo!  I love a long weekend (who doesn’t?!).  Ethan is off from school and David has a bank holiday, so there was no way I was going to work.  There’s nothing more depressing than having to get up for work while everyone else is still sleeping!

The weather has been spectacular all weekend — a beautiful Fall  weekend with sun and a nice breeze.  I actually even spent time on the hammock yesterday, lying in the sun reading “Knockout”.  It was quite nice.

Today I did some serious cleaning of the pantry.  It seems I’ve been through this exercise a few times before, and yet I still I find more “junk”.  So I did some more purging, some organizing and some cleaning.  I need to invest in some glass storage containers in various sizes.  Taking my cue from Kris Carr, I did get some mason jars and have been using them quite a bit.  But I’d like to get some other sizes to store leftovers.  I would rather microwave lunch for work in a glass container than a plastic one (think carcinogens…).  Also, with all the various and sundry seeds, nuts and beans in the pantry, I think glass containers will work better in there also.

Speaking of Kris Carr, I tried the “Save the Tuna Salad on Rye” recipe from Crazy Sexy Kitchen and we loved it!  It was delicious.  Definitely one I will make again (and in case you missed the joke in the title… there is no tuna).  It’s made with raw cashews, sunflower seeds, pickles and seasoning (don’t knock it until you try it).

Another dish I made tonight is Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats.  I have been looking for some nutritious, easy breakfast recipes and I think this was is going to be great.  You assemble and refrigerate.  In the morning, you can eat cold, or warm up in the microwave.  I haven’t tasted them yet, but I am really looking forward to breakfast tomorrow!

Here’s the link to the recipe… I use a lot of Melissa’s recipes and definitely recommend that you follow her blog.

http://mywholefoodlife.com/2013/09/14/pumpkin-pie-overnight-oats/

*****

Weekend (1967) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0062480/

6 thoughts on “Weekend

    • Yes it is — thank you for recommending it! I think everyone should read it… so they understand that there really are options out there. If I had read this first, I wonder what different choices I might have made.

      • I’m facing the beginning of radiation on Thursday. I’m already marked and tattooed. But I swear as of this minute I don’t know if I’m going through with it. I’m furiously doing research and wondering if I can live with the decision of not doing it and having it come back. I’ve heard some bad things about the long-term side effects.

      • I know exactly what you are feeling. I was dead set against radiation. But my onc insisted and my rad onc delivered a compelling argument. It’s a decision only you can make but I can tell you that my family wanted me to do it because they felt it improved my survival chances. Fear of a recurrence does crazy things.
        My naturalist had me take daily 20 minute baths during radiation to help protect my thyroid. 3 cups of Epsom salt and 1 cup baking soda. No more than 30 minutes. If you decide to proceed.
        Whatever you decide, you can’t beat yourself up for it. None of it is a guarantee.
        Peace to you.

      • Radiation was a walk in the park compared to chemo. No issues at all. Even my skin fared pretty well. There were others I saw who did have bad skin reactions. I don’t really regret doing it. I regret chemo and Femara more.

        But I focused a lot on diet, took a variety of supplements, and took those daily baths. I’m sure all of that helped. Oh also I took thyroidine daily (one drop). You can probably get that at a health food store.

Leave a Reply

