Nice n’ Tight

David, Ethan and I went to see “Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2” yesterday.  I was the one who really wanted to see it, especially after seeing the trailer.  Loads of fruit and veggie puns!  What can be better than watermelephants, mosiquotoasts, flamangos, cantelopes, and shrimpanzees.  My favorite line:  “There’s a leek in the boat!!!”  Too funny!  Not sure David loved it, but Ethan and I chuckled through the whole thing.  🙂

So I’ve had a few days of wearing my compression shirts.  This is a challenge for me since, for those of you who know me, I am not really big on long sleeves or collars close to my neck.  I’m all about open necklines and loose!  For work, this is especially hard because I can’t wear a compression shirt under very much of my current work wardrobe.  It will take some time to find some outfits that I can work it into.

In the meantime, I am wearing them to bed.  I thought they would make me hot and sweaty, but that hasn’t been too bad so far, and they are more comfortable than I expected.  That said, they are very snug and leave absolutely nothing to the imagination.  Every bump, bulge, rib cage… there’s no hiding them!  The shirts remind me a bit of a dance leotard, and I haven’t worn one of those since, well, I took dance in my childhood (at a time when I was extremely skinny!).  There is one advantage, they do help hold in my belly!  🙂 I’ve done my menu planning for the week:

  • Sunday:  Black Bean and Quinoa Burgers on whole wheat rolls, topped with mustard and avocado, and carrot slaw (I made a double batch so we have some for lunch.)
  • Monday: Moroccan Lentil Soup (simmering on the stove as I type…I’m getting better at planning and preparing ahead of time
  • Tuesday: Black Bean Tacos
  • Wednesday:  Grilled Tilapia and baked potatoes with a mushroom Marsala sauce
  • Thursday:  Avocado Pesto Pasta
  • Friday:  We are off to the pumpkin patch and campfire.  I’ll probably have to bring my own snack…

*****

Nice n’ Tight (1985) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0144465/

5 thoughts on “Nice n’ Tight

  1. Michele compression vest

    Hi Michele, It’s interesting that you are trying a compression shirt. Our grandson, Dylan, age 5 is on the autism spectrum and wears a compression vest for 45 minutes of each two hour period, but not at night. It’s very calming and does wonders to help him cope and adjust to changes, etc. It is only worn part time so that he will not become acclimated to it and not get the desired effect any more. It’s part of his “sensory diet” that does so much for him.
    If you find the long sleeves and collars of the compression shirt to be difficult to wear to work, you might look into a compression vest. You might find some that would give you some variety of design besides long sleeves and collars.
    All our best to you!
    Mary Lou and Ted Veremeychik.

    • Thank you for the information! I had no idea compression was also used in autism. That’s fascinating. I think the shirt was recommended for me because of where my fluid build up is, but I’ll definitely consider the vest! I hope you are both doing well! It has been great reconnecting with you!

  2. Sounds like a fun movie. When I laugh – it makes for a brighter day. I have not seen he move, but after hearing of your “chuckles” throughout out — plan to either see on video stream or there were two or three movie theaters advertising. Also, beginning next week, I will plan a menu for seven days and try to prepare as much as I can over the weekend. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

