Footloose

Last night my husband and I attended the wedding of one of his childhood friends.  Going into it, I knew I wouldn’t know many people (count ’em: 4… my husband, my mother-in-law, my brother-in-law, and, only slightly, the groom).  But I was looking forward to the night out and hoping I would meet some fun people and enjoy the night.

The wedding was lovely — beautiful, heartfelt, poignant.  I wish the bride and groom much happiness!

As it happened, we ended up sitting with some wonderful people and had a blast.  Did you ever meet someone and just instantly connect?  That was the case for me with Steph and Photoola, friends of the groom from Ohio.  They were super nice, full of life, fun, and gorgeous (nice combination!)!  I feel like I have known them forever, and only wish we lived closer.  I hope our paths cross again in the future… and for now, at least there’s Facebook!

We had the best time dancing the night away.  Let me remind you that my activity level this past year+ has been severely limited, so dancing like crazy for hours on end definitely wore me out.  I fully expected to be sore this morning but wasn’t.  It may just not have caught up with me, but by the end of the night, I was fading fast and my hips and knees were hurting!  I think my physical therapist will be pleased… I definitely stretched out some muscles!  (and, as the designated driver, I wasn’t even drinking!)   🙂

With my new amazing friends, Steph and Photoola:

Stuart's wedding 2013.09.27

*****

Footloose (1984) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0087277/

10 thoughts on “Footloose

  1. Michele,
    We were footloose and fancy free on that dance floor together last night! How lucky Photoola and I felt being seated at table #3 with very kind and sweet complete strangers. I knew 2 people at the wedding, Stuart the handsome groom and Jonathon, the handsome best man, son of the groom. Photoola knew “me”. The moment we sat down, you softened any anxiousness with your welcoming conversation to us. No longer feeling like complete strangers, now friends 🙂
    I have learned that dancing has it’s own element of healing us from the inside out. Photoola and I are dedicating the song “I Will Survive” by Gloria Gaynor to you! You knew every word and you are more than surviving girlfriend, you are thriving!
    So grateful you have been placed on our path and believe in that path of divine design. big hug! Thank your sweet photographer for the pics. Pleasure meeting you too Dave 🙂

    • I wish we had had more time to talk! I would have loved to hear more about you both, and especially about your yoga studio! I’ve been wanting to get into yoga but haven’t been physically able. Hopefully once I am done with physical therapy I will be in better shape. In the meantime, I’ve liked your Facebook page! I’m glad you mentioned that!
      It’s funny that, at cocktail hour, I thought about coming over to talk to you both. It did appear that you were in the same boat as me! I regret that I didn’t, but am glad for the time we did have together. And yes, the pain by the end of the night was worth every minute of the dancing! 🙂
      Divine design! So true! I am a huge believer in Fate and that everything, and everyone, happens in your life for a reason. 🙂
      David is thrilled that you enjoyed the pictures! And he was smitten with you both as well! 🙂 Glad to hear you made it safely home.
      Michele

    • That is so sweet that you wanted to come over at the cocktail hour. You would have witnessed us sinking into the grass with our heels, it was quite hilarious, give me my slip on yoga shoes please!
      The practice of yoga is fundamentally an act of kindness toward oneself…Judith Lasater. I believe it would be a wonderful tool for your healing toolbox Michele. When you are ready to look for a yoga class, look for the words, gentle, restorative, beginner in the description. There are so many styles of yoga and you can explore to find one that resonates with your mind, body and spirit. I was certified at Kripalu in Stockbridge, MA. A Kripalu yoga instructor will guide you to find compassion for oneself on and off the yoga mat. You can visit http://www.kripalu.org and scroll down to bottom of home page and under “be a part of Kripalu” and click on “Kripalu near you” and plug in your zip code or surrounding area and it will list a Kripalu instructor in your area. Find a yoga instructor that is not concerned with the pose itself but the exploration of your own body as you go in and out of the pose.
      To me yoga is a journey to the soul.
      I will be glad to answer any questions along your your yoga path 🙂

  2. Michele, we felt the same connection and loved spending the evening with you! We truly look forward to our paths crossing again and our friendship continuing. How blessed we are to have been seated at the same table. Let’s all keep in touch and look forward to another day of dancing. I hope you have been able to get some rest! Tell Dave I said hello and thank you for the kodak moments. 🙂

  3. Good morning Michele,
    I wanted to let you know that I spoke about our meeting one another this week in my yoga classes at the local community college. I reminded them that kindness matters. At the end of each yoga session I invite the students to wrap their arms around themselves and give a big hug to the preciousness of who they are. I express to keep some of that love for themselves and pass some on, to someone they love and someone placed on their path by a divine design. Collectively together we get to make this world a brighter place by extended one kind, authentic response at a time to those placed in our daily path. You were placed in our path that night and for that we(Photoola and I) are very grateful. Kindness matters, thanks for being you.

    • Hi Steph! What an absolutely wonderful message to receive today. I am honored that you spoke of me at your class. Your note is beautiful and brought a tears to my eyes. I am deeply touched. I think it is you and Photoola who were placed in MY path that night! I love the messages you are teaching as part of your yoga classes. So powerful, and the chance to change lives. In gratitude and friendship, Michele

Leave a Reply

