The First Time

Tonight was a first for Ethan… his first middle school dance.  I was quite surprised that he decided to go, and I’m sure I was more excited than he was.  Ethan’s pretty much a homebody, like me, and once we’re home after work/school, it’s tough to get us back out.  But he wanted to go, and I was pretty happy about that.  I think social experiences are as important as academic ones, as far as school goes.

He did have a blast–so full of energy when I picked him up.  He didn’t stop talking all the way home, and he can’t wait for the next one!

Thinking about this “first” brought to mind all the other firsts to come.  I don’t know if it’s the brushes with cancer, or just sentimentality in my old age, but I value each of these firsts more and more.  I thank God every day that I get to experience these things with my son.

What’s still to come?  First kiss… First date… First time behind the wheel… First shave… First car….

It’s part of what makes me work so hard on my healthy lifestyle choices.  I want to be around for all those firsts, and then some!  And in the meantime, I will cherish each one that comes around.

*****

The First Time (2012) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1763303/

2 thoughts on “The First Time

Leave a Reply

