Higher Learning

I mentioned yesterday that I read a lot of books and such to educate myself on my cancer, my treatments, and actions I can take to protect myself.  I know that I have mentioned many of them in prior blogs, but I don’t think I have shared a comprehensive list.  So here you go…

Books

  • Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr – This is the one that started it all for me.  I first watched Kris’ documentary Crazy Sexy Cancer, and I was hooked from there.  I also follow her blog.
  • The China Study and Whole by T. Colin Campbell – The largest nutritional study ever, the connection of animal protein with chronic disease (including cancer, heart disease, obesity, diabetes, and autoimmune diseases), and the science behind it all.
  • Anticancer: a new way of life by David Servan-Schreiber, MD, PhD
  • Foods to Fight Cancer by Richard Beliveau, PhD and Denis Gingras, PhD
  • The Cancer Survivor’s Guide: Foods that help you fight back! by Neal D Barnard, MD, and Jennifer K Reilly, RD
  • Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin
  • Food Rules and The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollen (His In Defense of Food is in the pile to be read)
  • The 9 Steps To Keep the Doctor Away by Dr Rashid A Buttar
  • Keep It Simple, Keep It Whole by Alona Pulde and Matthew Lederman (a good one to get started on healthier eating, particularly if you are looking to ease into rather than jump in 100%)

Cookbooks:

  • The Happy Herbivore Cookbook by Lindsey Nixon
  • The Anti-Breast Cancer Cookbook by Julia B Greer
  • Crazy Sexy Kitchen by Kris Carr
  • The China Study  Cookbook by Leanne Campbell
  • The Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen
  • The Cancer Survivor’s Guide: Foods that help you fight back! by Neal D Barnard, MD, and Jennifer K Reilly, RD

Documentaries:

  • Forks Over Knives
  • Food Matters
  • Food Inc
  • Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead
  • And I feel like I am forgetting some of these!

Blogs:

And of course, there is nothing that can’t be Googled!

I’d love to hear what you are all reading and watching!  What’s not on my list that should be?

*****

Higher Learning (1995) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0113305/

2 thoughts on “Higher Learning

Leave a Reply

