Certified Copy

This past weekend, David and I enjoyed a trip to the Finger Lakes of New York with our friends Melissa and Matt.  It was relaxing and fun, and we enjoyed lots of wine tasting!  Here we are at dinner at Belhurst Castle in Geneva, NY.

Finger Lakes 2013 3

Dinner at Belhurst was wonderful, but the eating highlight of the weekend came at lunch time.  We had lunch at Knapp’s Winery & Restaurant.  Mel and I both chose the crab cake over mixed greens, which was great.  But on the side was an amazing carrot salad that neither of us could stop raving about.  After begging the waiter to ask the chef how he made the salad, we were given three ingredients:  honey, tarragon, and Dijon.  We had also asked how they made the carrots into spaghetti like strands, but we didn’t get an answer on that.

So, today, I set out to copy this delicious salad as best I could!  I found the following recipe:

http://www.grouprecipes.com/60016/tarragon-honey-mustard-dressing.html

As always, my modifications… I used a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon of honey.  (The one we had in NY was definitely on the sweeter side with a touch of Dijon.)  Next time, I would cut back a bit on the mustard…maybe one tablespoon instead of two.  I did use this dressing over carrot strings, just like the restaurant.  (I would say 5-6 carrots is about right.)  To get the strings, I used a zester.  You could probably cut the carrots any way you want, to save time, but I wanted to recreate the dish “as is”.  So excited to get it almost exactly right!

shredded carrots

Mel, next get together, I’ll make it for you!  🙂

I wanted to also wish a “happy birthday in Heaven” to Ray, who would have been 58 today.  I can’t help but wonder if we knew then what I know now, would it have made any difference?  Leukemia took you too young, but your memory stays strong in the hearts and minds of your family and friends.

Certified Copy (2010) – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1020773/

Leave a Reply

