The Omega Code

First, let me congratulate my dad on the end of his radiation treatments.  It was a tough road, but he (and mom) made it.  Both Mom and Dad lost 14 pounds each, since Mom didn’t want to make 2 meals and ate whatever Dad would eat.  Call it the “soup diet”!  So proud of them both getting through this!

So, I’m on to the next section of “Anticancer”where the author talks around omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids.  I have read so much on this subject over the past year and, while I cannot claim to be an expert at all, I can say, in the United States, we eat way too many things with omega-6 and not enough with omega-3.  Our ratios are way out of balance… 1:15 of omega 3s to 6s (and higher) when the ratio should ideally be 1:1.  The high intake of omega 6 fatty acids is a big contributor to disease, including cardiovascular disease, cancer, and inflammatory and autoimmune diseases.

I was trying to find an article that gave some better clarity on this topic and decided to share a few because they approach it differently:

http://chriskresser.com/how-too-much-omega-6-and-not-enough-omega-3-is-making-us-sick

http://www.sheknows.com/health-and-wellness/articles/7250/the-omega-vs-omega-controversy

Bottom line:  Eat less omega-6!  (And here’s a list to help you… don’t forget that omega-6 oils are in most of your processed foods.)

http://nutritiondata.self.com/foods-000141000000000000000-1w.html

So, speaking of omega 6 and bad oils…  As we were out and about today, enjoying a day off and some family time, we ended up at a diner where the menu was 99.9% meat products.  I ended up selecting some fried shrimp and totally regretted it.  By the time I got home, I needed a nap because I was so completely sluggish!  Eventually Ethan and I juiced to try to offset the negative effects of my lunch!  I don’t plan to make that mistake again any time soon.

Have a great long weekend, everyone!

The Omega Code (1999) http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0203408/

2 thoughts on “The Omega Code

Leave a Reply

