Bad Sugar

We haven’t talked about sugar in a while and I’ve started thinking about that again while reading the book “Anticancer, A New Way of Life” (by David Servan-Schreiber MD PhD).

In the chapter on “the anticancer environment”, there’s a section devoted to sugar.  There’s an explanation of how refined sugars and white flour have a high glycemic index which cause glucose levels in your blood to quickly rise.  The body releases insulin to enable your body to process all that glucose, and the insulin is accompanied by IGF (insulin-like growth factor), which stimulates cell growth.  Therefore, sugar has a direct impact on making cells grow faster.  Insulin and IGF also promote inflammation, another contributor to tumor growth.  The amount of processed sugar and flour, including high fructose corn syrup, seems to be a key contributor to the increase in cancer.

To quote the book: “All scientific literature points in the same direction:  People who want to protect themselves from cancer should seriously reduce their consumption of processed sugar and bleached flour.”

For me, giving up “sugar” wasn’t too hard.  I am not a huge consumer of sugary foods (I tend to crave salt instead of sugar).  Giving up processed foods and bleached flour was a lot harder.  After all, these are the foods of convenience.  When you are trying to juggle family, house, work, and everything else, those convenience foods seem like a Godsend.  But sure wish I knew then what I know now.

I have eliminated all processed foods from my diet (although I’m sure I get some processed junk in restaurants and should probably cut back on eating out…).  I do allow myself a sweet now and then, but interestingly enough, they don’t taste quite as good as they used.  Maybe knowing the linkage between sugar and cancer takes the fun out of it, or maybe my taste buds are adjusted to better food.  Whatever the reason, I’m glad.

New recipe tonight — I loved it & David and Ethan also enjoyed it.  Ethan’s first bite of an artichoke!  Easy to make and really good!  I did cut back on both the olive oil (1/2 cup seemed like a lot) and the cheese (just sprinkled some on top).  I did not use the tarragon, since I don’t really know what it is or what it tastes like, but I didn’t feel like anything was missing.  I also used canned artichoke hearts instead of frozen.

http://www.thebestlife.com/healthy-diet-recipes/angel-hair-with-artichokes-zucchini-and-lemon/

Blog update:  I am going to start including information on each of the movies I use as my titles.  Apparently some people don’t believe these are all real movie names!  (There was a lot of doubt on The Attack of the Vegan Zombies!)  If I get ambitious, I may go back and update the 250 prior blogs…  🙂

Bad Sugar (2012)  http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2129898/

2 thoughts on “Bad Sugar

Leave a Reply

